DEV Community

Alexandra
Alexandra

Posted on

Nevertheless, Alexandra Coded

I began coding because...

As a teenager, I began coding because I wanted to create Myspace layouts.

As an adult, I wanted to create a website/resume in order to get a job in Tech. Tech seems to pay more and I love to learn new skills, solve problems and build new things. It takes "working with my hands" to another level.

Secretly though, 9 year olds know how to code better than me, and that terrifies me. So I learned to code out of sheer self preservation.

I'm currently hacking on...

I love the whole Chat Bot trend, so I'm working on a Bot that you can have a conversation with to learn more about me. It will be used as an interactive resume, of sorts. I'm also super into IoT and Smart Cites, so I'm working on a few projects.

I'm excited about...

How to Hack Harassment in online communities, and the role that AI and algorithms will help with making the internet a better place.

My advice for other women who code is...

Get plugged into a community, contribute to an Open Source Project, apply to speak at a conference before you think you're ready or able.

Top comments (0)