DEV Community

Alex Bender
Alex Bender

Posted on

V is new black

I've been writing about the new language called V, it's pretty interesting and promising. But my draft post got overwritten by new empty post. And I don't remember much what I've wrote there. That's why here is a link.

Just take a look, it won't take long: https://vlang.io/

What do you think about it?

Top comments (6)

Collapse
 
bitsnaps profile image
bitsnaps • Edited

I'm following this project for months, I had a few insignificant contributions and some test about performance; syntax..., what looks promising is the philosophy of "one way to do things", which allows to produce a smaller yet faster compiler and a predictable code and increase compiler's performance aswell as overall future tools (e.g. frameworks, libraries, translation tools C/C++).
I believe that many innovations has been made by removing things and not by adding them.
I can't wait to see how this gonna be performing on heavy machine learning frameworks (tensorflow, pytorch), maybe I'll do some matrix manipulations as soon as v1.0 becomes available to see how things is gonna work.

Collapse
 
alexbender profile image
Alex Bender

I would like to look at your performance tests. Indeed removing looks like more interesting part, than adding.
Thanks for commenting!

Collapse
 
bitsnaps profile image
bitsnaps

Sorry! I don't have any serious performance tests to share, just playing around with the syntax
gist.github.com/bitsnaps/98b59cf8f...
most of the tests has been made in the project at compiler/tests/

Collapse
 
mrwesdunn profile image
Wes Dunn

While reading the “Documentation” page, I had a few “NO WAY!” moments. Especially the C interoperability and the proposed C/C++ translation functionality. Further, considering I’m currently involved in maintaining a cross-platform GUI (wxWidgets), the promises around cross-compiling and graphics is pretty damn attractive. Oh! Also... the promise of an intelligent package manager. However... given the language’s basis in Go... I’m a bit skeptical... package management in Go was a miserable experience from what I recall (only done a bit with Go and it’s been a while).

One could say... “it’s too good to be true”

I was unaware of V until your post, so I’ll definitely be keeping my eye out for developments and examples.

What do you like about V? Have you written anything in V you’d be willing to share?

Collapse
 
alexbender profile image
Alex Bender

Hey Wes! Sorry for slow reply. To be honest I didn't try it yet except compiling some examples. But I like the features that V proposing. I think that I will try to write something when the language would be a bit more stable.
Thanks for commenting out!

Collapse
 
nanohard profile image
William Antonelli

This looks pretty cool. Excited to see where it goes.