DEV Community

Cover image for Backend Developer Roadmap 2023
Alex Hyett
Alex Hyett

Posted on • Originally published at alexhyett.com

Backend Developer Roadmap 2023

There is so much to learn as a software developer it can be difficult to work out where to start and what you should be learning. To help I have decided to put together a learning roadmap for backend developers.

I have been a professional backend developer for over 12 years and this is my opinion of everything I think backend developers need to know. I have purposefully made this roadmap as language-agnostic as possible. With things like ChatGPT and GitHub Copilot, the language you use is becoming less important. I have included a few examples for C#, JavaScript and TypeScript which are the languages I would pick if I were to start all over again.

The roadmap below is just a static image but I have created an interactive version on my website where you can click on each of the topics and learn more about them. I am going to be expanding this roadmap over time so make sure you bookmark it.

Backend Developer Roadmap

Top comments (0)