DEV Community

Cover image for Loving Day-to-Day Learning + Exciting News!
Alex Morton
Alex Morton

Posted on • Updated on

Loving Day-to-Day Learning + Exciting News!

This post was originally published on July 8, 2020 on my blog.

Oh man - I am excited today! I just got my residency card as a legal resident in France, y'all!!!!

When talking with my friend yesterday and she'd asked how long I'd been waiting on this, my response was "Five years...." (the amount of time I've been in France).

But in reality, the overall process has lasted more or less the past year or so.

This all goes back to me harping on and on about cultivating patience in each moment in our lives because, let me tell ya, this has been a long process but I tried to never let the idea of the outcome (altogether out of my control) affect how I conducted myself in my day-to-day life (altogether in my control).

Same goes for coding and learning to program. If we get so wrapped up in whatever outcome we're after (i.e. a new job/career, launching a popular app, starting a company, etc) that we don't embrace each joyful and frustrating moment of the day-to-day learning - I'd go so far as to say that it may not have all been truly worth it.

After all, once we achieve whatever it is we're seeking, we'll be so primed to move onto the next objective and start the whole process over again.

Embrace the day-to-learning. Don't get too wrapped up in the outcome of whatever it is you're currently seeking. And just live a damn good life.

Thanks so much for reading along! Now let's be friends over on Twitter >>

P.S. I've launched a brand-new podcast with new episodes each Wednesday! Stay up to date by signing up for the newsletter here >>

The Ladies Code Collective Podcast art

Top comments (0)