DEV Community

Cover image for Make Time to Make Time
Alex Morton
Alex Morton

Posted on

Make Time to Make Time

Yesterday I was inspired by a YouTube video that was serendipitously recommended to me on my feed. I started to think about the idea of 'making time.'

Making time to take care of ourselves, making time to cook high-quality meals, making time to sit down and learn or code in a highly focused manner - instead of flying by and trying to get everything done in a 30-minute time slot.

This idea is great motivation for not simply checking every little thing off the to-do list in a very half-assed and not fully committed way, but instead, accomplishing bigger tasks that move the needle in a more significant way.

Along that same line, here's an excerpt I really love from Jason Fried's post on the Signal vs Noise blog:

There are lots of ways to carve up an hour. 10 x 6. 15 x 4. 30 x 2. 45 + 15. 20 + 20 + 20. The key is not to carve it up. And when you stack it up – one full hour after another – you really see the compound benefits of uninterrupted time.

I love the idea of being able to fully complete any tasks we have on our plates by leveraging the power of truly uninterrupted time. I'm thinking of a task that we fear will take us the entire day, and then when we sit down to focus solely on that project, it ends up taking a true fraction of the expected time.

It really all starts with being mindful, and making the time, to do our best work and live our most enjoyable lives.

This post was originally published on February 6, 2020 on my blog

Top comments (0)