DEV Community

Cover image for One Step at a Time, Always
Alex Morton
Alex Morton

Posted on • Updated on

One Step at a Time, Always

This post was originally published on January 28, 2021 on my blog.

Pssst! I send weekly newsletters about the self-taught coding journey and my own coding adventures (and misadventures!) Sign up here! >>


I say this all the time, but we just need to keep taking those small steps forward, one at a time, and we'll arrive there at some point.

It's not a matter of if, but when. It's not a matter of "Well, if I keep taking steps in this direction, I might improve my skills."

t's actually, "If I keep taking steps in this directions I will absolutely improve my skills, I just need to stay with it, even if it takes a longer time than expected.

And that's super powerful!

I recently responded to a tweet by CodeNewbie asking: What have you done today to get you one step closer to your dreams?

And I responded: Calmly set aside any internal overwhelm or negative self-talk, made myself a list, set a timer for each item individually, and intentionally/mindfully worked my way through each task.

screenshot from twitter

Because, honestly, that to me is the only way to get closer to your dreams. We can make all the grandiose actions in the world, but if we do those once every so often - even if they're larger in scale, they'll never win out over those small (even tiny!) actions every single day that end up compounding themselves into something we aren't even presently capable of imagining or visualizing.

Kind of like a penny (tiny!) that doubles itself every single day until it reaches a million dollars in what seems to be a crazily short amount of time.

Top comments (0)