DEV Community

Cover image for So I Have This New Idea
Alex Morton
Alex Morton

Posted on • Updated on

So I Have This New Idea

This post was originally published on June 17, 2020 on my blog.

If you know me at all (and by 'know,' I mean that generously as in 'if you've read some of my blog posts'), you'll know that I love new ideas and sometimes can't contain them and then they end up bursting at the seams of my brain.

It's a fun thing to experience, but it can be overwhelming if I get overly existential about it.

Kind of like when people get sad when they think about the fact that they will literally never in their lives be able to hug every single puppy or kitten in the world, or be able to read every single book ever written, or meet every single individual worldwide who could potentially be an awesome fit as a friend...

It's kind of like that for me with ideas in my mind.

While I try my best to see them through, it just so happens that sometimes the idea has to pass through or by us before moving on to someone else who can perhaps better bring it to life (a paraphrased idea coming from Elizabeth Gilbert's Big Magic, which I recently read for the second time).

Anyway, as I was in the shower just now, I had an idea to develop a little web app to help me keep track of chores that need doing around my apartment.

Coincidentally, it's the same structure as I used for my Wellbean project in keeping track of contacting friends and loved ones. So maybe it's something I can spin up this weekend. We shall see... I'm excited about it! Hehehe.

Thanks for reading! Now let's be friends over on Twitter >>

Top comments (0)