DEV Community

Alex Morton
Alex Morton

Posted on • Updated on

Spring Afternoons and Completed To-Do's

Happy Thursday afternoon! We just finished up a wonderful lunch out on our balcony. Sunny, breezy, peaceful - everything good about a spring afternoon. I'm grateful.

Yesterday, I finally buckled up and crossed off two of this week's items from the list. First, I added the 'Previous Editions' section to my Letters from Nelson landing page.

This'll give prospective subscribers a chance to see what the newsletter has to offer - always a good thing when considering signing up for any newsletter, I think.

The second thing I did was to add the entire Letters from Nelson project to my portfolio itself (hint: just click on the Projects tab above to check that out).

On days when you're just not feelin' it, the most important thing you can do is to make the decision to show up.

If you're wanting to go for a run, make the decision and then squeeze yourself into your sports bra.

If you're wanting to code something, make the decision and then open your text editor and code one thing.

If you're wanting to blog everyday, make the decision and then sit down day after day and write literally whatever's on your mind.

The last couple of days, I was so putting off my to-do list items, and then I just made the decision to show up, sat down and got to work. A couple of focused hours later and voilà! Mission(s) accomplished!

This post was originally published on April 9, 2020 on my blog.

Top comments (0)