DEV Community

Alex Morton
Alex Morton

Posted on • Updated on

Step Away from the 'Should' to Embrace the 'What If'

This post was originally published on May 6, 2020 on my blog.

I woke up with amazing news today! Can't share directly right now (I know, the frustration!) but just know that I'm feeling GÜD.

From some Pinterest-browsing this morning, I took a break from my regularly-scheduled maximalism-gallery-wall and sprawling-cottage-garden inspiration to fall in love with this sweet quote (author unknown):

You gotta start romanticizing your life.

You gotta start believing that your morning commute is cute and fun, that every cup of coffee is the best you’ve ever had, that even the smallest and most mundane things are exciting and new.

You have to, because that’s when you start truly living. That’s when you look forward to every day.

I seriously love this. Consciously recognizing each moment as unique and exciting has been the deciding factor for me in living an amazing life.

The fact that our experiences are shaped directly by our thoughts and that we can learn to cultivate our thoughts to have a more optimistic (or inversely, negative) bent is simply mind-blowing.

I love this time in my life - learning, growing, gracefully stepping away from the 'should' to embrace the 'what if.'

And it's only just getting started.

Top comments (0)