DEV Community

Alfredo Mendoza
Alfredo Mendoza

Posted on

How to build a dev community from scratch?

I don't know how to start building a community. Well, I've always been complaining that there isn't a community in my local city and why I can't find other developers or people who want to learn and grow together. So, my goal for next year is to start a community, I know that if I do this it is "for the love of art", but I like to teach and work with people who want to form something bigger than oneself. I really appreciate the help in the comments, thanks.

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
cristinaruth profile image
Cristina Ruth • Edited
  1. Are there any existing tech communities already in your city? Check meetup.com if you haven’t done so yet. If there are, I would reach out to their organizers on their experience in building theirs out and take any pointers you can make.

  2. Start asking people (at work, social media etc) if anyone would be interested and collect their contact info. This helps you build your contact list.

  3. Once you have an adequate number of contacts (20+), determine a cadence of your event (monthly? what day? what time?) and set your event date. And let your contacts know.

  4. For venues, depending on size of your group, utilize local coffee shops, restaurants, library meeting rooms or even seek local companies willing to provide you space and/or maybe food.

It’s a lot of upfront work and running it through the months will require some work as well on your end, to “design” the events and keep them fresh enough to keep your members engaged.

Good luck 😁

Some comments may only be visible to logged-in visitors. Sign in to view all comments.