DEV Community

Cover image for Do you drink coffee while working?
Itachi Uchiha
Itachi Uchiha

Posted on

Do you drink coffee while working?

Cover Resource: https://www.roastycoffee.com

If so, how many cups of coffee do you drink in a day?

Top comments (43)

Collapse
 
avalander profile image
Avalander

I usually drink two cups of coffee every weekday. Then I start drinking three cups a day, and shortly after that, four. Then I decide that it's too much and go one or two weeks without any coffee at all. After that, I start with one cup a day and repeat the cycle all over again.

Collapse
 
danifrontdev profile image
Dani

I think that coffee cycle it's really interesting and has some benefits :)

Collapse
 
avalander profile image
Avalander

I never thought about it as being beneficial, I just want to avoid getting too hooked on the juice :D

Thread Thread
 
danifrontdev profile image
Dani

Yes, that's one of the reasons to do a coffee cycle. That juice... It's very addictive haha

Collapse
 
cecilelebleu profile image
Cécile Lebleu

If I drink 2 cups a day, my health will start suffering. Jitters, stress, nerves, stomach problems. Some people can drink 4 or 5 cups a day, others can’t.
On a regular weekday I might have a cup in the morning depending on how I slept. And then, I might have a cup in the afternoon if I’m tired. But if I’m stressed, no coffee. (Tea or cocoa are also really good!)
Overall I’d say I have an average of 0.75 cups a day. I may go a week without a drop, and I may have 3 a day for a couple of days.

Listen to your body! It’s more important than work. If you see your coworkers downing espressos and Red Bull’s to get through the day, it doesn’t mean you should too. You can get as much energy from exercise, diet, habits.

Collapse
 
derkaiserkoenig profile image
Timo Koenig

I don't understand the question ;)
About 5-8 double Espresso per day

Collapse
 
itachiuchiha profile image
Itachi Uchiha

are you doing sports?

Collapse
 
derkaiserkoenig profile image
Timo Koenig

Me? yes 2-3 times per week

Collapse
 
nataliedeweerd profile image
𝐍𝐚𝐭𝐚𝐥𝐢𝐞 𝐝𝐞 𝐖𝐞𝐞𝐫𝐝

Daaang - that's a lot of coffee!

Collapse
 
derkaiserkoenig profile image
Timo Koenig • Edited

really? thought so little espressos don't have as much caffeine as normal coffes

Thread Thread
 
nataliedeweerd profile image
𝐍𝐚𝐭𝐚𝐥𝐢𝐞 𝐝𝐞 𝐖𝐞𝐞𝐫𝐝

A double espresso though...

A quick Google tells me an espresso has 80mg of caffeine, and a normal drip coffee has 120mg. If you're having a double espresso, that's 160mg of caffeine.

Thread Thread
 
derkaiserkoenig profile image
Timo Koenig

ok.. I'm a caffeine junky. Blame on me :O)

Collapse
 
jmcp profile image
James McPherson

I used to say no - because I start my day with a double-espresso and that tends to keep me going. However, over the last few months my diet has changed a bit, and I've found that an espresso at about 3-3:30pm is useful. Not necessary, but certainly something I'm enjoying. Sometimes I swap that for a cup of black tea. I think it's more the idea of having a hot cuppa in the middle of the afternoon.

Apart from that, I just drink water during my working day.

Collapse
 
nataliedeweerd profile image
𝐍𝐚𝐭𝐚𝐥𝐢𝐞 𝐝𝐞 𝐖𝐞𝐞𝐫𝐝

One or two, depending how tired/stressed I am :)

Usually start the day with a Nespresso, then maybe pick up another at lunch.

Collapse
 
jmcp profile image
James McPherson

Nespresso isn't coffee ..... :p

How you get your coffee is up to you.

Collapse
 
nataliedeweerd profile image
𝐍𝐚𝐭𝐚𝐥𝐢𝐞 𝐝𝐞 𝐖𝐞𝐞𝐫𝐝

I'd prefer "from bean" anyday :P but Nespresso is just so convenient, and they're basically everywhere in the office!

Collapse
 
danifrontdev profile image
Dani

Yes, I do. 2-3 cups per day no more or I would have a trouble hahaha

Collapse
 
itachiuchiha profile image
Itachi Uchiha

I was thinking about 6-7 about per day :) Of course for myself :)

Collapse
 
danifrontdev profile image
Dani

Wow, 6-7 per day... Too much for me :)

Thread Thread
 
itachiuchiha profile image
Itachi Uchiha

I was actually wondering about that :) Can it be harmful to me?

Thread Thread
 
danifrontdev profile image
Dani

it’s depends of each people, in my case I’m get very nervous hahaha

Collapse
 
tsimpson profile image
Travis Simpson

Used to be a coffee fiend, and some days still am. Current research shows 4 cups of coffee a day is perfectly healthy, beneficial and safe. That is, regular cups of coffee btw. Drink it black all the way! Some days, I may opt for a cup or two of Death Wish Coffee, which has notably higher amounts of caffeine. I also rotate, after having a cup of coffee I have a cup of water, then maybe a cup of green tea. Growing up on coffee (literally, since about 5 years old), I find 2 to 4 cups to be optimal and more than enough, particularly if you want to avoid over-stimulation, increasing anxiety and sleep deprivation :)

Collapse
 
tchaflich profile image
Thomas C. Haflich

I used to drink coffee (and tea) like water. It was starting to have health effects, so I've been trying to taper down and swap in decaf when possible. I still like having a warm drink available when at the computer, but having that much caffeine is not sustainable.

Right now I'm down to a carafe a day or less. That's maybe two huge mugs or four "standard" cups? I never know how to measure. I drink those in the morning before work, though. At work I stick to tea.

Collapse
 
dennisk profile image
Dennis Keirsgieter

I drink 0 coffee because i don't want to get a need for caffeine. People don't understand that i can function without coffee.. But i think that only proofs my point if you never start drinking it you will never need it.. right? ;)

Collapse
 
ahferroin7 profile image
Austin S. Hemmelgarn

None, mostly because I simply don't like coffee. I used to drink multiple cups of green tea a day, though I've recently stopped doing so since I finally realized that caffeine just makes me tired without helping me focus or stay awake at all.

Collapse
 
rokkoo profile image
Alfonso

I usually drink 8/10 coffe peer day, yeah its a lot of.. Now im trying to drink té.

Collapse
 
itachiuchiha profile image
Itachi Uchiha

8/10 :o how :o

Collapse
 
rokkoo profile image
Alfonso

Im very hoocked :S

Collapse
 
craigbutcher profile image
Craig Butcher

I always drink two cup of decaf coffee a day. Yes, decaf! I found it is much easier to drink without the buzz. :-)

Collapse
 
cecilelebleu profile image
Cécile Lebleu

I’ve been thinking about picking that up because the everyday regular coffee can be bad on my system. Does it taste the same?

Collapse
 
craigbutcher profile image
Craig Butcher

It tastes the same and was pleasantly surprised. The good thing with decaf coffee is that it’s drinkable at any time. I only drink regular coffee if I need a much needed kick to wake up which useful after late nights or having children who wakes up repeatedly in the night!

Collapse
 
sharpdog profile image
SharpDog

H-H-H-How is th-th-this even a qu-qu-qu-question ?

Collapse
 
forza11879 profile image
Ion Leahu • Edited

I do not recommend you to drink coffee long term. If you gonna drink it regularly it will disturb your sleep meaning that you will not get enough sleep. You will get tired all the time. Even if you drink it only in the morning. It will damage your heart especially after you get 40 years old. You will not be able to go to the gym because your heart will not be able to pull it off if you really want to work out and not just go around the gym and chat with people. If coffee is part of your culture try drinking decaf once or twice a weak. Decaf still has coffee inside just not as much as regular one. Hope it helps you!

Collapse
 
foresthoffman profile image
Forest Hoffman

I just made 3 quarts of cold brew.