DEV Community

AliyuAlbako
AliyuAlbako

Posted on

Python is Harder than Java....

This is a submission for DEV Computer Science Challenge v24.06.12: One Byte Explainer.

Explainer

When I started programing, there is this notion going round that "Java is harder than Python". Python is my first language, after hitting some millstones in python, I started java.
From the onset I found java so difficult to comprehend but going deeper, I found java so accommodating, crystal clear and self-explained.
In many occasions I will have to go back to Java to understand many concepts that I couldn't understand in python, especially oops and its sub-concepts.
Python is vague and Java is Verbose.

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
stephgrino profile image
Stephane Pellegrino

You're right, because Python is designed for fast writing code. (Some syntax/concept shortcuts have been made)

Collapse
 
ezpieco profile image
Ezpie

Python was made more as a language for simplicity, so saying, if you want to get a job you would need Java as it's in my opinion the best for learning Data structures and Algorithms, and since mostly that's what they ask in the interview you have no other options. But yeah if you want self-explanatory code that doesn't require stupid comments that needs explanation because half of the team members are Indians and we Indians sure are bad in English! Your only option is to use Java... well you get what I mean right? And yes because Java is faster then python.

Here are my options in when to use which.

  • Easy and Less Work: Python, because it's easy to get used to due to its large community and libraries for making anything stupid slow(tried making a web browser and I felt like killing myself).

  • Self-explanatory, fast, maintainable, scalable, and Professional: Java cause why not it's sure that it's long and unnecessary but you can surely get used to it and once you do you can create whatever you want and it's going to be the best thing that ever happened to you.