DEV Community

Allan N Jeremy
Allan N Jeremy

Posted on

So I just got back to youtube after 7 years...

Heads up

This article contains some shameless plugs to my channels. If you find this offensive, I apologize in advance.

Shrug

Please don't eat me 😅


We've all been there

We've all started something that we stopped doing. For me, one of those things was YouTube. I started teaching the fundamentals of programming and 3D stuff a year after I finished high school.

At the time, I knew nothing about YouTube and simply wanted to share knowledge regardless of whether or not the quality was good. My audio was horrible (as you'd see with multiple comments on the same) and I never appeared on camera. For some of the videos, the aesthetic was also horrid, but for some reason I kept making videos.

I stopped YouTubing when I joined campus - studying Film & Animation. That made me a lot more critical of what I could put out as well as bombarded me with a tonne of work.

Anyway. Fast forward to 2020, I figured it's time to get back to it. I bought a blue yeti mic & borrowed a camera from a friend. The first two videos (more like 100 takes) I recorded felt cringey as hell. Cringe

So in the end I decided to say 🤷‍♂️ it (insert the word you're thinking of here.). It is quite thrilling, since I have no idea what kind of reception I'll get.

Not only did I decide to continue with my old channel. I also started a new channel where I've challenged myself to build a multi-million dollar company in the next 2 years, starting with $0 in Africa. For the most part, I think it's worth a try, given that I have tried a bunch of things, failed and learnt a tonne over the past 7ish years.

So yeah...

I'll be posting new videos on Friday & Monday .
Making it in Africa - Fridays
Tutorial channel - Mondays

Hopefully I can commit this time - this article is meant to hold me accountable as well.

I also figured I'd start doing bi-weekly (Probably on weekends) life tips on my Instagram just to share what I've learnt over the course of my life and career.

I could use some help

What would you suggest as tips for getting back into the game? Any YouTube tips? I've got a few more general video related questions that I'll ask in a different post.

Top comments (0)