DEV Community

Alvan Chance
Alvan Chance

Posted on • Updated on

My AWS Journey Has Started

Prior To starting my cloud training

Being a Web Designer and delving deeper on the development side of life along with and inclusive of the graphics side to complement my end product. I've always had a deep interest in technology with a view of making improving the lives of those who is involved.

My decision to start on my cloud journey wasn’t a difficult one to make, as I’d seen it as a definite step to make either concurrently with my Dev journey or after. From looking at several videos, reading documentation relating Software Engineering and the Cloud Industry, it was clear that they both are strong within their own right, however, Cloud has pick up allot of steam, here to stay and not getting involved will be a decision I’d not want to regret not making.

Deciding who to study with and why

The choice to join an established training organisation was never a question, and post making a few enquires, speaking with accounts manager, trainers, instructors I’ve had to put a definitive starting point on hold due to work and personal commitments.

Several months later I received a few emails from various training organisations enquiring should I have interest of undertaking their training package, to refresh all relevant information mentally that’ll confirm my decision of whom will taking me down what I considered the highway of cloud training.

Finally, after sitting in on open day sessions to have an insight of what is being offered from the training body and available support, there was no doubt of what my decision was going to be.

I chose to become an AWS Academy Student through Optima-IT, as the support offered as indicated during the open day was everything and more expected, and looked forward to setting a start date.

Starting with the Academy

First day of the Academy was Saturday 26 Feb 22, and, although I was looking forward to completing a few planned activities then having some time to myself, that quickly shifted eagerly to start on my journey in cloud training which is more important to me , for what I want to achieve and where I wanted to be after a set period of time.

Conclusion

I’m happy to say I think I’ve made the right decision now in preparing, taking the steps and acting upon them well ahead of time and not delaying the process any longer in working towards my goals and what I wanted to achieve.

Future Updates

Look out for future updates on my journey covering what I’ve learnt, hurdles encountered (should there be any), and what I’ve done to get over them.

Top comments (0)