DEV Community

Cover image for Quick A/B Poll: Which card style you like better?
Alvaro Saburido
Alvaro Saburido

Posted on • Updated on

Quick A/B Poll: Which card style you like better?

UPDATE 10/08/2020:

Thanks to everyone that took the time to vote and provide valuable feedback in this poll. You guys rock ๐Ÿค˜.

I decided to use Option A (even if B got more votes ๐Ÿฆ„) with a few changes inspired by the feedback you gave me and considering the component surroundings:

Alt Text

Card A is the real deal (dark background, vibrant colors, etc., all evoke the feelings of competition, passion, aggression, etc.).
by @AnkushThakur

I added the character names, the logos in the bg similar to option B, and I added a small indicator of the stage just at the top.

I like the contrast that the card gives, it's eye-catching in all that light tournament page and clearly invites the user to check the next battle kinda feeling.

Here is another version of it

Alt Text

And how it looks in the same tournament page but in knockout phase:

Alt Text

Does that mean I threw the Option B to the trash ๐Ÿ—‘? Not really, I actually going to use it on a page with historical of matches, because there doesn't need that much dynamism and contrast looks nice and clean.

I'm really happy with the result. and all the cool discussions happening on the comments, thanks, everyone!


Hi there ๐Ÿ‘‹ . I'm a big fan of Super Smash Bros since I was a little kid.

Alt Text

I'm doing some quick design for a tournament app in Vue and I could use your feedback, which card you like the most?.

  • Option A: Vote heart โค๏ธ
  • Option B: Vote ๐Ÿฆ„

Disclaimer: Characters and names are property of Nintendo of America.

Top comments (31)

Collapse
 
daniel13rady profile image
Daniel Brady

Tough choice, they both look good! But Iโ€™ll go with option B, because the design elements more closely align with Nintendo, in my mind: clean, slanted, character logos as shadows of the characters, etc.

One suggestion: try making the โ€œFinish Battleโ€ text in ALL-CAPS and see how that changes the feel of it.

Collapse
 
alvarosabu profile image
Alvaro Saburido

Thanks for the feedback, really apprieciate it.

Collapse
 
johntalamo profile image
JohnTalamo

They're both good but I prefer A. My eyes went right to that one. The colors pop and the characters look like they're more 3-D versus looking more 2-D on white.

Collapse
 
alvarosabu profile image
Alvaro Saburido

I have the same feeling, I'm trying to step away from my overall romance with minimalistic white interfaces with something riskier

Collapse
 
horrorofpartybeach profile image
Emma

I really like both designs but I went for Option A because I find it easier to read/see things against a darker background. I'd suggest increasing the contrast of some of the icons on the bottom black banner of Option A; from an accessibility point of view, this would be a great improvement.

I also really like the shadows behind Falco and Link on Option B and I agree with Daniel that this design is more closely aligned with Nintendo.

Great job on the designs, they're both awesome!

Collapse
 
huncyrus profile image
huncyrus

This is hard, because like elements from each side.

I like the format of the B:

  • Rounded corners
  • Full figures
  • Figure logo as background
  • Name written down

And I like from the "A":

  • Colors
  • "vs" artwork (i know, littlebit copied from street fighter)
  • The red rounded button from below for finishing a battle

The second one because focus more the important UI elements and has better call-to-action feelin' (e.g.: drive better the eye what to do, more intuitive).
The first one way cleaner by feeling.

Would be interesting to have both scheme for dark/light theme ;)

Collapse
 
nombrekeff profile image
Keff

I like B more, but would like A if they used the same styling (ie. rounder borders, shadows, and badge)

Collapse
 
dabit_coder profile image
David Oliva Tirado

They are both awesome! But I think that the white one looks a bit better. It's less overloaded with things (the logos behind the characters are SICK) and in general looks more clean and elegant.

Really good job!

Collapse
 
alvarosabu profile image
Alvaro Saburido

Not a bad idea tho, thanks for replying

Collapse
 
lmioco profile image
lmioco

I prefer the second one

Collapse
 
alexanderjanke profile image
Alex Janke

๐Ÿฆ„
(but reducing the shadow just a little bit)

Collapse
 
darkwiiplayer profile image
๐’ŽWii ๐Ÿณ๏ธโ€โšง๏ธ

I'mma go with B, but not by much. They are both pretty cool :D

Collapse
 
alvarosabu profile image
Alvaro Saburido

Hey thanks for the awesome feedback, I totally get your point actually I didn't put any names because I wasn't happy how the fonts looked on it, I still trying to find the correct font to it.

Collapse
 
joelbonetr profile image
JoelBonetR ๐Ÿฅ‡

I love the way characters goes out of the card and the darker "footer" on A, but I love the information about wins and character names, and also the finish battle style on B ๐Ÿ˜‚

Collapse
 
fkhadra profile image
Fadi Khadra

Both are gorgeous. But I would go for A. The "VS" is really eye-catching. Would you share the app when done ?

Collapse
 
alvarosabu profile image
Alvaro Saburido

Thank you very much, yes Im planning on having a demo version of the app with mock data on my portfolio site, :D.

Collapse
 
xukinorris profile image
Xukinorris

I always go for the clean that uses the least dark colors. Nice job btw!

Collapse
 
samwightt profile image
Sam Wight

Option B with Option A's button looks esp good to me! Not sure the button design looks like a button or matches with the rounded corners.