DEV Community

Cover image for Which Linux Exist for What reason?
Aman Jain
Aman Jain

Posted on

Which Linux Exist for What reason?

Hello Folks, I was wondering that there are almost 1000 Linux distributions around us and Dammm! I just know a few of them. That was really demotivating for the first 10 seconds then I thought wait wait wait are they even used? or just developed for fun. After a deep research, I found that most of them are just started as a side project or a solution to a personal problem but some of them really makes difference and have a stand in this fast-moving world. So let's not talk and let me give a brief to you :

Ubuntu

This is a Debian based Linux which proved to give best known simplistic user experience + support, and Yessss! I also felt the same.
Points to note are:

  • It is providing a solid desktop (and server) experience, and it isnโ€™t afraid to build its own custom technology to do it.
  • Rich of Repositories and not so fancy yet powerful at the same time

Linux Mint

Mint is built on top of Ubuntu and known for having the best media support at that time but I think now we have software like VLC to do the job. Sooooo, goodbye mint๐Ÿ‘‹ We need to break up ๐Ÿ™ˆ

Fedora, RedHat and CentOS

Fedora is started as a university project (as I mentioned๐Ÿคญ) with the aim to serve bleeding-edge software and support at the enterprise level and RedHat named community also supported the cause. But after a period of time in 2003 RedHat got divided into two entities Redhat Enterprise Linux(RHEL) and Fedora. They are still the same OS but RHEL adds extra support to companies to make some money and keep the purpose alive. But in August 2008 several Fedora servers were compromised ad that's where the boosted rise of RHEL happened. CentOS is just a copy of RHEL but it's just RHEL with less/no support.
In short, they are Linux for the enterprise.

openSUSE / SUSE linux Eterprise

Basically, openSUSE aimed to provide the best UI + powerful enterprise-level features and it is once known for its best Linux UI but eventually, Ubuntu took the crown. SUSE Linux Enterprise is the enterprise version of openSUSE.

Arch Linux

Linux known for its deep roots. That means it's once the barest and grounded Linux where you have to manually configure everything but at the same time, you have the power to do everything. And at present, if you want a User experience near to MacOS then go for it.

Kali Linux

As we already heard, Kali Linux is known for its supercool 600 preinstalled hacking tools and a super awesome UI. It is actually a Kernal Auditing LInux but often misunderstood by Hindu goddess name "kali" mata. It actually became famous when actors used it multiple times in "Mr.Robot" t.v. series.

As I mentioned there are thousands of Linux-based OS but I think every OS is there for solving a particular problem so before installing any OS just find your use case. And if you think I left something then comment it down below and Don't forget to show some love in the comments down below.

Good Luck, Happy Coding!

Top comments (9)

Collapse
 
thefluxapex profile image
Ian Pride

All I really care about is what's underneath and then I build on top of that (or strip down) usually Debian based. Other than the package management it's pretty much pick a part and build from desktop env to display/login manager. Linux is like Legos lol.

I do test many distros in VM's yearly, but I always end up sticking with Debian or Ubuntu on main machines and Linux Lite on my kids laptops. I'll alternate back and forth between Gnome and KDE for a desktop and GDM3 or LIGHTDM when I get bored.

I understand that different distros have different "aims", but that has always seemed more personal preference than actual practicality in my opinion. It's doesn't take much effort to turn Ubuntu into Kali and vice versa... I think there's even a few scripts I've seen somewhere out there that do so. It's essentially installing Kali repositories and installing the packages... Then theme it up...

Collapse
 
amanjaindev profile image
Aman Jain

That's quite deep and I completely agree with you brother ๐Ÿ˜Š

Collapse
 
metruzanca profile image
Samuele Zanca

You missed gentoo which is even harder to setup than arch.

Collapse
 
amanjaindev profile image
Aman Jain

Damm! good to know ๐Ÿ˜ฎ

Collapse
 
metruzanca profile image
Samuele Zanca

Yeah, basically hen too requires you to compile everything yourself instead of downloading an iso for arch, you download source code.

Collapse
 
vindiv profile image
Vincenzo Di Vico

i like PopOs. is basically Ubuntu, but with less software installed. it run so smooth on my thinkpad x230

Collapse
 
amanjaindev profile image
Aman Jain

So nice ๐Ÿ˜ I just checked it out.

Collapse
 
haxnet profile image
HaxNet

AUR is hands down the best for getting packages.
Arch will make you learn a lot about Linux.

Collapse
 
amanjaindev profile image
Aman Jain

Since you said, I'll definitely try it ๐Ÿ˜Ž