DEV Community

Ameesha Gireesh
Ameesha Gireesh

Posted on • Updated on

Technologies I'm Learning in 2022

2021 was a wild ride, at least technically speaking. I've just finished my third semester (halfway through the second year) of college doing a Bachelor's degree in Computer Science.

As someone who only knew how to do basic coding in Python, I decided to venture into the field of web development in 2021.

So here's the list of all the languages, tools, technologies, and frameworks I've learned in 2021:

  1. Git and GitHub
  2. MATLAB
  3. R
  4. HTML
  5. CSS
  6. Bootstrap
  7. JavaScript
  8. React.JS
  9. Tailwind CSS
  10. Node.js
  11. Express
  12. PHP
  13. MongoDB
  14. React Native
  15. Rust (basics)
  16. Docker
  17. Oracle and MySQL
  18. Postman

This list might seem long to some or insignificant to experienced developers, but in 2021 I was just getting started in the web development domain.

I'm happy with whatever I learned last year, but I intend to learn more this year. So here's the list of all the technologies, tools, and frameworks that I want to learn in 2022.

1. Next.js
Well, I know React, so why not Next. It's simply a React framework with numerous benefits that include improved SEO. Next also provides improved performance since it is clever enough to load the JS and CSS that are required for the given page. I'm going to use Next.js in at least one project that I work on this year.

2. Vue
It's just another JavaScript framework that I wanted to learn to increase my frontend stack.

3. Remix
I've been reading a lot about how Remix is kind of a competitor to Next.js, so I might just dabble with it once I've worked on a project using Next. This is purely just for seeing the difference between both. If there are any significant advantages, then I might switch, but it's a huge maybe.

4. GraphQL
Having a whole documentation of your API and preventing multiple requests sounds nice. Moreover, GraphQL is supported by most of the languages that I use, so I wouldn't notice any difficulties in integration. Being able to set up a type-safe schema is also a serious advantage.

5. TypeScript
I've used TypeScript in a project before and I've noticed that it's easier to catch errors before I run the code and that's a huge advantage. Refactoring code would be much easier on TypeScript than in JavaScript, and I think it's just better when the project scales.

6. REST APIs
I've made a REST API before for a quiz application, and I enjoyed the whole process. Hence, I thought this year I'll learn more about it and hopefully dabble around with it in projects.

7. Elixir
Elixir is known for being able to put applications into production quickly, and it's great for being able to handle a lot of processes happening together at the same time. So I might learn it but again depends on the kind of projects I'm working on.

8. React Query

9. Kubernetes
I learned Docker last year but ended up not using it anywhere. Adding k8's to my DevOps knowledge stack is a huge addition, and hopefully, I can incorporate it in a project.

10. Google Cloud
11. Cloudflare
12. AWS
13. DigitalOcean
All of these might seem overkill, but I just really want to learn how to use all of them.

14. Rust (in-depth)
I've learned Rust last year but never developed a project using it, and as a result, my knowledge of it did end up getting a bit rusty (pun intended). Hence, I wanted to relearn it again this year, but I'm not sure if I'll have the time or the patience required.

I guess that's pretty much it for 2022. I've already started with Next.js, so I'm pretty happy with the direction that I'm going in.

I'll also be entering my undergrad third year, halfway through 2022, so I'm aware that I might get busy with academics and internships and may not be able to learn whatever I wanted to. But that's completely okay, as long as I'm learning something more than the past me.

Top comments (0)