DEV Community

andac
andac

Posted on

Combo Memo - WIP : Part 1

When I play fighting games, I find that I need some places to write down the combos I would use, but I cannot find a good place to do that.

There are websites that list out all the combos, but
1) the notation can be quite non-intuitive to understand.

For example

c.S > 2H > 236K, 2S > 41236H~H > 66RRC > IAD > j.236K > c.S > 6H > 41236H~H

2) There isn't a good place to store the combo list. I have tried excel, draw.io, but still the notation limited the readability.

So I want to make my own combo building website.

Goal

  1. Make a simple website that can write and store fighting games' combos
  2. Visualize combos as buttons, make it easy to read
  3. Keep it small, get it done within 2~3 weeks (hopefully before Feb), no server-side features.

TODO

  • UI Design
  • Data Structure Design
  • Cookies Storage
  • Json export/ import
  • Multi-games layout support
  • Graphical buttons <-> notation string translation

Problems

Here are things I am still figuring out

  • How to support multiple games with game-specific input? (eg. GGST has RC), need to design a good data structure
  • Figuring out an easy-to-use UI
  • Combos can have shared elements instead of completely different from each other. More like a tree than a list. Any good way to visualize this?

Here is the very early prototype, I will set the repo to public once it is done ~70%
Image description

Ref

https://www.dustloop.com/w/GGST/Sol_Badguy/Combos#Combo_List
https://dev.to/dgvall/fighting-game-notation-made-easy-472n

Top comments (0)