DEV Community

Cover image for What's Your Favorite Way to Cook/Eat Ramen?
Angela Whisnant
Angela Whisnant

Posted on

What's Your Favorite Way to Cook/Eat Ramen?

So, I am talking here about the stuff you buy in packages or cups at the grocery store/asian market for 35 cents (sometimes more). Do you add interesting ingredients to yours? Do you use it to create other dishes?
My favorite way to eat ramen is to prepare it with less than two cups of water(the broth is a little more flavorful that way) and add a sprinkle of Tony Chachere's just before eating it, and Manchuren is my favorite...chicken or chicken tortilla! It must be al dente...I don't like mushy noodles! What about you?🍜

Top comments (7)

Collapse
 
ahferroin7 profile image
Austin S. Hemmelgarn

When I actually eat ramen (I generally prefer udon or yakisoba when I can get it), I usually go for the 'traditional' flavor, but use only about 1.5 cups of water and add about half a cup of mirin (usually Hontteri brand shin mirin), so the broth is not only stronger, but also a bit thicker (if you want to try this, I suggest starting out with less mirin, it can be strong stuff depending on the particular brand). Depending on the mood I'm in, I may also add candied ginger, fresh green onion, ground yellow mustard, matcha, or shichimi togarashi. I too prefer the noodles al dente (not just for ramen though, I hate mushy noodles or pasta in general).

Collapse
 
angelarae63 profile image
Angela Whisnant

Wow! That sounds amazing!

Collapse
 
theoriginalbpc profile image
Sarah Dye

I started adding an egg to my ramen when I cook it. I just cook ramen according to the package. Then when I add the seasoning packet I reduce the heat and add an egg. I cook it on low for 1-2 minutes to get a poached egg. If I have any leftover green onion, I'll sprinkle it over my ramen.

Collapse
 
angelarae63 profile image
Angela Whisnant

I’m trying that! It sounds delicious!

Collapse
 
lady_phair profile image
Amber P.

I eat it dry - open up the package, sprinkle the flavor dust, shake it all up and munch on it like chips. :D

Collapse
 
angelarae63 profile image
Angela Whisnant

My daughter does that, too!

Collapse
 
angelarae63 profile image
Angela Whisnant

LOL😂😂😂😂