DEV Community

Angel Young
Angel Young

Posted on

Thanks for the response

When I wrote that post I was frustrated and I received a lot of support. Thank you so much for that.

In the next few months, I will stop payments on my Squarespace account and I will move my domain over to Github pages and create a site myself. I hate writing technical blogs due to my perfectionism and I will try to write something about it. I know that is required as somebody going into tech to do it.

As far as the advice I was given, I cannot follow all of it that would be impossible, I am going to find common ground with all of it. It was a lot of advice for me and very overwhelming. I am also going to work with my mentor on how to get the interview since I only been on 3 interviews since finishing the Bootcamp. We are going to move our appointments to weekly rather than biweekly.

I am going to delete my LinkedIn, somebody gave me this awesome advice. I realized how broken my LinkedIn is and that it cannot be salvaged since it already has a negative digital footprint.

I do have a job and other obligations so having a green everyday GitHub is not something I can realistically do. What I can do is push something every week. I will also repin some of my projects.

I am going to continue to attend meetups. I have 3 within the next 10 days.

I also am joining another Code For Philly project since the one I was apart of is inactive. I don't want to say which one since I realized how public this site is and I don't want to reveal a lot of information about the project. This will keep me busy and provide a project I can have on my resume. It is an open-source project something that I have been afraid to get into.

I am not going to lie in order to get a job. If people don't think I am a good fit, that is on them. I can only control the skills and grow from them.

Again thank you for all of your advice. I really appreciate it.

Top comments (6)

Collapse
 
hpaolini profile image
Hunter S. Paolini

Hi Angel, if you need help with your resume format feel free to connect. I run BingoCV as a side-gig, and help design resumes that work with Application Tracking Systems and look good for recruiters.

Collapse
 
angelyoung24 profile image
Angel Young

I will do that. Thank you!

Collapse
 
angelyoung24 profile image
Angel Young

How do I contact you? I can't find anything on your website.

Collapse
 
hpaolini profile image
Hunter S. Paolini • Edited

Anything related to resumes you can drop me an email at team@bingocv.com. Don't forget to attach your resume (I see you have one on your homepage). I'll get back to you as soon as I can.

 
angelyoung24 profile image
Angel Young

I lied before and that isn't something that people can easily forgive you for. It follows you everywhere. If you got away with it then I am sure somebody of your background can lie and get away with it. I am not going to be a liar in order to get ahead. I don't care if it is a white lie, people get crazy over that kind of thing. I hope none of your lies are revealed.

Collapse
 
angelyoung24 profile image
Angel Young

I am sorry I cannot risk that and I think your coach gave you terrible advice.