DEV Community

Anonymouse
Anonymouse

Posted on

How can I network without social media?

I don't use social or professional networks such as LinkedIn, Twitter, Instagram, or even Dev much for that matter.

How can someone network in 2020, without bowing to social media and forgoing their own data and privacy?

Top comments (3)

Collapse
 
matveyclark profile image
Matthew Clark

Great question, and something I struggle with as well. I’m not a big fan of the ‘mainstream’ social media platforms. What about networking in-person in meet-ups or dev-oriented events in your area? I find it’s much better to build personal relationships with your network.

Collapse
 
anonymouse profile image
Anonymouse

Thanks for the reply. For me, it's less about meeting developers or engineers and more about meeting professionals that may be helpful (or I could help down the road). For instance, company founders, marketing leads, influencers, brand advocates, etc.

I suppose some meet ups may be helpful for that but it's quite a wide variety of people and industries, etc.

Collapse
 
matveyclark profile image
Matthew Clark

I see your point, although my experience in networking is quite limited, the advice I keep hearing is that people are just people, irrespective of what they do. Building a good relationship with an an engineer opens up their network, which may consist precisely of company founders, marketing leads etc.

Although if you have a specific agenda for networking, then of course target some specific events. I guess my closing thought would be to just connect with people on a genuine level, irrespective of their position, and that would organically lead to connections you are after.

Full disclosure - I’m no expert, just my two cents 👌