DEV Community

Aidas Petryla
Aidas Petryla

Posted on

🧐 A quick productivity tip: help by context

Yesterday I wanted to be more social and came to read a book in living room, where others were watching football. Not the best idea, huh?
As I'm myself interested in football, it continued stealing my attention. Up until I realized that my progress with the book is embarrassingly slow.πŸ€¦β€β™‚οΈπŸ“–

I tried to gather more willpower and concentrate more. But still short glances at the football match persisted.πŸ‘€

Then I decided to get some help from the environment/context. The best would've been to simply leave the room. But I wanted to be social, you know.

So I sad down my back facing the TV. Now if I wanted to take a "glance", I'd have to turn half of my body. So much effort... Problem solved!πŸ’ͺπŸ“Ί

Summary:

  1. Identify the problem: TV grabs my attention
  2. Why is this happening (why is it easy to do so): because it's effortless to move my eyes between the book and TV
  3. How to use context to Your advantage: make it hard to do something You don't want and easy what You want. This could be sitting back to TV, sitting behind a corner, etc.

Just as an actor can't rely solely on inspiration, one can't bank solely on willpower.
Technique is what always works.
Less effort, no frustration, getting stuff done.πŸš€πŸŽ―

Top comments (0)