DEV Community

Cover image for Software Development can be boring!
Mwenedata Apotre
Mwenedata Apotre

Posted on

Software Development can be boring!

You don't believe me? Let me tell you my story.

I've been passionate about software development and computer science since the start of 2020 and since then I started learning programming , from language to language improving my skills little by little and then I later joined Rwanda Coding Academy to further make software development my career. What happened later is not far from what you think.

At Rwanda Coding Academy

I joined the academy and got some mentorship and I learn Frontend Development with React JS and Backend Development with Node JS and I also built a couple of projects to showcase my skills and I embarked on a job seeking journey. I applied to every job post I would come across and after few rejections I started seeking ways to improve my resume and cover letter , social media profiles ,etc..

So basically, I started off with a passion to create but then after many rejections I started get demotivated and later forgot what brought me in this coding career and coding started being boring because I had no other purpose to code than getting some job opportunities which was not actually the real reason I came into this field in the first place.

Finding what I enjoy is helping me now!

I sat down and realized I have spent a month without having learnt anything new, my Github streak was broken and I hadn't built something at least. So, I decided to try to identify the root cause and I found out it was because I was not being true to myself. I just enjoy building stuff and solving problems , that's what got me into this career so I transitioned and started working on some ideas I had and learning things for the sole purpose of being able to build and solve problems.

Image description

Now things are kinda smooth now!

I haven't been stable yet but at least am working on some projects am passionate about and I really believe something great will come out of that.

Last words

Just follow your passion and work on something that really interests you or else soon you'll find yourself undergrowing and time will be passing by with you not doing anything productive.

Top comments (6)

Collapse
 
mugishap profile image
Mugisha Precieux

Great motivation to most beginners in the career! Kudos Apotre 👏

Collapse
 
apotre profile image
Mwenedata Apotre

Yeah definetely finding what you enjoy will help you along the journey.

Collapse
 
riju_bro profile image
riju_bro

Me too realized it in my journey

Collapse
 
apotre profile image
Mwenedata Apotre

How did you handle it ?

Collapse
 
riju_bro profile image
riju_bro

I started following what my brain likes not the tech industry likes. Then I started to like programming.

Thread Thread
 
apotre profile image
Mwenedata Apotre

Definitely the right thing to do!