DEV Community

Cover image for How Does One Transition From Basic Front End Development to Intermediate?
Arica R.
Arica R.

Posted on • Updated on

How Does One Transition From Basic Front End Development to Intermediate?

Where Does One Begin...

I've heard many say that learning Front-End development is easy. Compared to Back-End development and Full-Stack development. However, I disagree.
I have been working to learn HTML,CSS, and JavaScript for four months now. I began my coding journey after stumbling upon SheCodes.io, completing the Basic course, and finding that I was both intrigued and exhilarated by what I was able to create.
However, in reaching my four-month milestone; tackling code every night after my workday... I am worried I am missing so much, and, even more terrifying, focusing on too little.

Here are some of the challenges I've encountered and what actions I've taken to close the gap.

The Boilerplate? Why are we boiling anything!?

The term itself can throw you for a loop. If you are unaware of what it means, and why its needed. Zaveri offers a wonderful definition of boilerplates in his article > What is a boilerplate and why do we use it? Necessity of coding style guide Check it Out!. I found that one this aspect of coding was explained, I was better able to focus on all that comes after the head tag.

Attributes, Properties, Functions! Oh My!

There is a lot to learn and a lot to keep track of when learning something new. It takes time and being able to recall everything early in your learning journey is great. But sometimes additional readings from sources outside your coding bootcamp/programming can prove to be the most enlightening! And we need all the lights on when coding! I found the HTML and CSS: Design and Build Websites 1st Edition to be extremely helpful in better understanding these skills.

JavaScript & Its Logic

Although HTML has its attributes and CSS has its properties, I find myself working to best understand JavaScript. Working through human communication and computer logic the need to be both understood and exact creates a plethora of unique challenges. Learning functions take time and working to document what works and when is helpful for future reference. Most recently, I've given into notebooks and even bought them in Bulk. Wiring down what you are learning seems archaic but pen and paper, I've found, is better than forgetfulness and 11:59pm submission deadline.

I'm Sure There is So Much More!

These only outline a few of the recent challenges I've faced. I'm sure there are many more. But with diligence, persistence, and sometimes a snack break in between, all things are possible.

I am curious about what others experienced in the first month's of learning to code and what solutions worked best for you! Please share in the comments!

Top comments (0)