DEV Community

Cover image for What book(s) are you reading these days (and we should too)? 📖🧠
Arika O
Arika O

Posted on

What book(s) are you reading these days (and we should too)? 📖🧠

Currently I am reading these two books:

  • The Code Breaker. A book about DNA, RNA, gene theraphy and gene editing. It also touches on mRNA vaccines. I found it very interesting and relatively easy to follow, even though I know nothing about the field of genetics. One should read it, even if it's just for the sole purpose of expanding thier general knowledge.

Image description

  • The Art of Invisibility. A book written by a hacker on how to be online without leaving traces. The content is easy to follow but I personally find it tought to stomach. I think this book should be read by everyone concerned with their online presence and privacy.

Image description

Header source image: Shiromani Kant on Unsplash

Top comments (22)

Collapse
 
chrisgreening profile image
Chris Greening

Finishing up rereading the first trilogy in the Mistborn series

and also loosely making my way through a Stormlight Archive reread as well

On a Brandon Sanderson kick these days I guess 😅

Collapse
 
maxfindel profile image
Max F. Findel

I love Brandon's books. I really enjoyed Warbreaker and Elantris, but haven't started Mistborn or Stormlight Archives. I've heard those are his best sagas 😮

Collapse
 
chrisgreening profile image
Chris Greening

Yesss - absolutely loved Warbreaker. I haven't read Elantris yet but I just picked it up over the weekend and am super excited to get into it later this month

Mistborn was a little easier than SA to get into but only because SA is massive lol I highly recommend both series if you ever get a chance!

Collapse
 
simeg profile image
Simon Egersand 🎈

Brandon Sanderson is the man. I'm just about to start latest SA. Epic fantasy!

Collapse
 
chrisgreening profile image
Chris Greening

Enjoy! Very solid book ahead of you (figuratively and literally because it's a great book and also huge) 😎

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

I recently read The Founders, which is the story of PayPal. I found it to be an enjoyable read.

This book leaned pretty hard on being about the story of the collective and not so much the notorious individuals. Interestingly, I also recently read the biography on Peter Thiel called The Contrarian which paints the whole PayPal thing in a much more "Thiel-esque" hardcore libertarianism.

Both books are what they are and good all around reads. I'd recommend them, with the caveat of advising people: Don't worship these people and don't worship tycoons in general. 🥲

Collapse
 
arikaturika profile image
Arika O • Edited

I added "The Founders" on my reading list, thank you for mentioning it. So many intesting books, so little time to read 😁.

Collapse
 
evaldobento profile image
Evaldo Bento

I'm reading The Phoenix Project and I'm enjoying every page.

The only thing that makes me sad is the fact that I did not read is before :-|

goodreads.com/book/show/17255186-t...

Collapse
 
maxfindel profile image
Max F. Findel

Totally agree! I read that book on a very long train trip and it was packed with insights.

The book is actually based on a more Factory-focused book that shares similar lessons: The Goal by Eliyahu Goldratt

Collapse
 
juanfrank77 profile image
Juan F Gonzalez

I normally read non-fiction, not-related-to-tech books. Funny enough, I picked back a book from Walter Isaacson called The Innovators. It's the only tech-related one that I've read but it's highly recommended for all us devs & techies.

Collapse
 
arikaturika profile image
Arika O

"The code breaker" was my first Walter Isaacson book and I really liked his style. I will add "The innovators" on my list since, like you said, it's tech related. Thx for the recommendation.

Collapse
 
kithminiii profile image
Kithmini • Edited

In these days I am reading Dale Carnagies book collection.👩🏻‍🏫

Image description

Collapse
 
abhinav1217 profile image
Abhinav Kulshreshtha

I completed "The Lean Startup" last week,

Today I am starting "whose samosa is it anyways" a book which explore Indian regional culture from perspective of Samosa, a popular Indian snack.

P.S.
I am looking for a fiction, mystery-adventure book for reading next week, Something that is contained in one book, not a part of series. So suggestions are welcomed.

Collapse
 
hacker4world profile image
hacker4world

Coding interview university it's a github repo containing informations about algorithms and data structures

Collapse
 
strredwolf profile image
STrRedWolf • Edited

For some historic perspective, and some classic sci-fi, I would recommend the There Will Be War collection edited by Jerry Pournelle, one of the great sci-fi writers of the time. From the original Ender's Game to treaties on nuclear war, all the way up to modern day. It's good to remember where we came from.

For taking along to travel, though, I'm going to plug my own book, Throng: Going Station to Station -- A train traveling band novel set in a futuristic furry universe:

When their bus breaks down, multifur classic rock band THRONG is stranded in Boston -- or until one of their back-stage members calls up an old friend... one who has a train, a plan for a nomadic festival, and a need of a band. But will a secret of another back-stage member derail the tour?

I'm self-publishing through Amazon for print and e-book, and others for e-book. If you pick it up, I hope you enjoy it! I'm working on a sequel novel through Patreon. Details are on the band's site.

Collapse
 
jeremyf profile image
Jeremy Friesen

I'm reading "The Books of Jacob" by Olga Tokarczuk; she's such a world treasure and I encourage everyone to find her books and read them. Why? Because they highlight the human condition, in all of its flawed yet brilliant moments.

The Books of Jacob is an epic historical novel by Olga Tokarczuk, published by Wydawnictwo Literackie in October 2014. It is Tokarczuk's ninth novel and is the product of extensive historical research, taking her seven years to write.

Collapse
 
arisingco profile image
Michael Santiago

Will check out The Code breaker, thanks for the insight.

Currently reading Maximizing Your Potential by Dr. Myles Munroe and Born To Win by Zig Ziglar.

Collapse
 
dinerdas profile image
Diner Das

I really enjoyed Shoe Dog, the memoire from Nike founder Phil Knight.

Collapse
 
maddy profile image
Maddy

I'm reading "Money Master The Game" by Tony Robbins as I want to get more into investing.

Collapse
 
clairemattockskth67 profile image
clairemattockskth67 • Edited

It is - The Phoenix Project. Quite an interesting book for any age. Recently I was wondering what intersectionality is, so I decided to use edubirdie.com/examples/intersectio... for that. In principle, I understand what it is and what it is eaten with. But I would like to read another book about it. To consolidate the information.

Collapse
 
maxfindel profile image
Max F. Findel

I'm reading the whole Wheel of Time saga this year. I'm on book three and totally enjoying it 🧐

Collapse
 
frodolight profile image
Frodo

Thanks for writing this.