DEV Community

Cover image for Nevertheless, she coded: Arisa Fukuzaki
Arisa Fukuzaki
Arisa Fukuzaki

Posted on

Nevertheless, she coded: Arisa Fukuzaki

Hi there!

I'm Arisa, a freelance Full Stack Developer living in Germany🇩🇪

I'm developing Lilac, an online school with hands-on Frontend e-books and tutoring👩‍💻

The place where I'm from originally(Japan🇯🇵) had a similar movement a few weeks ago.

It all started with a developer who read the book "Girl Code: Gaming, Going Viral, and Getting It Done".

Until one woman becomes an engineer

Since the end of 2020, we finally started to have some community for women in tech in Japan.

Somehow, we had to be careful what guys will say about us gathering and hanging out with discussing what's the next move we make.

But what's the point to keep important voices just within us?

Then she pulled the trigger of this movement💪

We started to share our stories ...

womeng.jp: our stories

As a woman and a developer who wishes for equal rights, I needed to jump right in to "Nevertheless, she coded" movement!

$whoami

let arisa = {
  name: "Arisa Fukuzaki",
  from: "Japan🇯🇵",
  currentLocation: "Germany🇩🇪",
  occupation: {
    freelance: "Full Stack Dev",
    creator: "Lilac, an online programming learning service"
  },
  jobDescription: "Taught over 40 students about frontend, about 10 of them got dev jobs in companies or became freelance devs",
  previousJob: "ex-Emirates cabin crew",
  hobbies: {
    indoorSports: "Aikido",
    outdoorSports: "Snowboarding"
    others: "Podcasting"
  },
};
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

My most recent achievement was…

My most recent achievement was that I spoke in GatsbyConf 2021 as a speaker.

Alt Text

I learned a LOT of things through this speaker opportunity.

Gained my speaker skills, honed my presentation skills, saw great teamwork in a great organization etc...

It was actually, my very first-time experience being a speaker(and ofc, in front of over 10,000 people...!)

My speaker experience will be continued 😎

Advocating for myself looks like…

  • LOVE Gatsby.js
  • woman in action
  • a podcaster(Anonymous.fm)

  • a programming teacher

  • a startup creator for my own service, Lilac

  • Aikido fighter🥋

My biggest goal is…

My biggest goal for the moment is, to run 2 to 3 services on my own to contribute to people.

Lilac is the first project to do that.

Lilac can be a place where people can learn and gain their programming skills to change their life.

I was able to change my previous awful job environment to a dream work environment.

Without the help of the tutor who used to teach me programming, I couldn't achieve this far.

We, developers can make the world better and equal by technologies.

I want to contribute that with my own services.

My advice for allies to support underrepresented folks who code is...

My home country Japan is the 121st in the global gender gap within all countries in the world.

Tokyo Olympics ex-chief Yoshiro Mori made a furious sexist speech in public.

Abortion operation in Japan is still ignoring the warning from WHO although the way they operate risks unnecessary pain.

Contraceptive pills are the double price compared with European countries.

Emergency contraceptive pills cost 50 - 160 EUR and super difficult to get.

Every Japanese woman has experience being harassed sexually in public transportation.

(I've never seen some women in Japan say never had sexual harassment in public transportation.

I also have several times experienced since a teenager.)

Who wants to live in a society like this?

No one.

In fact, I left my home country because Europe has much higher standard in my opinion.

(Although it's not perfect yet depends on the place where we go)

I want to make every woman in the world can live safely without worrying about protecting themselves.

We can change with technology.

We will make a change.

I'm so glad to be a part of this movement.

Happy International Women's Day🎉

Top comments (8)

Collapse
 
upupkenchoong profile image
Ken Choong

Not going to flattery, but your Lilac website is pretty dope.

Collapse
 
arisa_dev profile image
Arisa Fukuzaki

Hey, Ken!
Aw thanks 🙈
I bet you saw my blog site, Aiki x Developer if you accessed it from my bio.
My Lilac website is in the dev process but soon it'll be in a public.

The secret is to build projects with Gatsby.js👍
It'll make your projects be super fast with an organized dev environment and to maintain.

Collapse
 
upupkenchoong profile image
Ken Choong

Ya Gatsby is pretty cool. I have few project using Gatsby, already dont want to know about any other framework.. haha

Thread Thread
 
arisa_dev profile image
Arisa Fukuzaki

😂😂😂
I'm still open to try out any other frameworks to avoid conflicts between devs though still, Gatsby is the top in my fav framework list:)

Collapse
 
swagwik profile image
Sattwik Sahu

ふくざきさん、がんばてください!🥳👍👍

Collapse
 
arisa_dev profile image
Arisa Fukuzaki

Sattwikさん、ありがとう😌
がんばります💪

Collapse
 
emma profile image
Emma Goto 🍙

Congrats on the GatsbyConf talk! That's impressive.

I also saw that post from wihora recently - I really hope the situation can start to improve over in Japan :(

Collapse
 
arisa_dev profile image
Arisa Fukuzaki

Hi Emma, thanks!
I'm really glad you watched my talk in GatsbyConf :)

Wiroha fights back nowadays with some people who don't believe what she really experienced...
But we won't give up sharing stories for the future generations💪
Although it's a rough road in the beginning, I believe we can make a change one day.