DEV Community

Arjun Attam
Arjun Attam

Posted on

Chat with your team while you collaborate over code in VS Code

I have been building Live Share Chat over the last year or so, and I recently added support for direct messages: you can now DM your VS Live Share contacts, within or outside a collaboration session.

Fun fact: Live Share Chat started as an experiment to reduce my constant context-switching between VS Code and Slack. I wanted to see what it would be like to be able to chat about code with my Slack teammates.

At first, it seemed weird to add chat to my text editor, but over time, I noticed how developers using VS Live Share started using the extension. It made sense to rename the extension to Live Share Chat, and emphasize the integration (I wrote about this journey here). The usage on Live Share has grown consistently over time, and that has motivated to keep working on it.

What do you think about this experience? Have you had a chance to try it out?

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
drumm profile image
Sam J.

Cool plugin! The chat worked before, but recently we see it as an empty window:

Image description

Any reason why?