DEV Community

Cover image for Connect-Four Game
ArmaanBarak
ArmaanBarak

Posted on

Connect-Four Game

Project Introduction

Just finished up with my first python project inside Codecademy's Computer Science Career Path. Not that I haven't made anything in python so far.
4 years back when I first started coding, I made a lot many projects, easier to complicated, but had to leave it coding in 2021. Deleted my accounts, my repositories and my offline projects. Now I've started fresh and new again.


Project Description

This project implements the connect four multiplayer game in the terminal where two players take turn to push in their tokens inside the grid. These first one to connect four checkers in a row while preventing the opponent to do so wins the game.
This project was indeed an amazing experience. While coding, the toughest part was to build up a logic to check for a match horizontally, vertically or diagonally.

What I learnt

This project helped me freshen up my memories and give me a good grasp of the basics. I'll now be moving up to Data Structures and Algorithms. I seldom remember anything I studied about DSA years back, so this would be even more challenging, but nothing good comes easy.

Project Link

Here is a link to my GitHub repo of connect-four.

Image description


Conclusion

Codecademy pushed me to write a blogpost about this first Portfolio Project. And I do agree that building a community while learning would help me get better results in my journey. Looking forward to interact with everyone out there and share more blogposts!

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
anitaolsen profile image
Anita Olsen*°•.¸☆ • Edited

Well done on your Connect-Four game, it looks awesome! I should make more stuff myself. I have done just like you have, with deleting my accounts and then starting anew (with a break in-between that is). I have promised myself to never delete any of my accounts ever again though! I enjoy learning from Codecademy as well! Keep it up!