DEV Community

Arman Tarkhanian
Arman Tarkhanian

Posted on

2024-01-05: New Year

Tuesday, January 2nd

Today's focus was on refining our processes. I had a productive talk with the CSO about refactoring practices, particularly discussing how to go about it specifically for prompts. It was the first day of the new year, so we laid out resolutions for better communication and not being so hard on each other.

Testing the changes from before was crucial, so we spent a good amount of time ensuring everything was ready to be pushed out as far as our staging server goes. Our meeting to prioritize all this stuff went well, setting the tone for the rest of the week.

I reconfigured my local environment to have the right connections, which was necessary for actually testing in the meanwhile. The highlight of the day was setting up and presenting a live demo for a former employee's work on my local environment, which was intended to make the bot far less verbose and also actually functional. I had to fix a lot of bugs in that regard since some if statements were bugged.

Thursday, January 4th

The day started with me reorganizing tasks on our Kanban board to better reflect our current priorities, especially focusing on adding story points for difficulty. I met with the CSO and and CEO to discuss expectations for prompt engineering, where we agreed on splitting into various classes for better modularity. We also talked about the onboarding flow and the implementation of two new exercises.

We also had a discussion about whether to push out the changes in staging to live, considering the implications of possible bugginess.

I encountered an issue where the chat wasn’t showing on my local environment. After some digging, I figured out that the environment variable issue was haunting me again. I ended the day by reading through our Notion documentation more thoroughly, which gave me insights into some of the work that was done prior.

Friday, January 5th

Today was a mix of fixing and planning. I started by addressing bugs introduced by Julie’s changes. The main challenge was making sure the to-do-list-maker was in proper order, but we managed to at least push it out for testing on staging. We also had a discussion about the credit card for a trial policy in order to prevent people just abusing the free trial system.

I also at some point wrote a branches guide based on Trunk-Based Development as per our off-shore team's suggestion, and also a subdomain guide focusing on how we should be deploying our code to Github.

That's all for now. Happy New Year everyone! Cheers.

Top comments (0)