DEV Community

Arman Tarkhanian
Arman Tarkhanian

Posted on

2024-01-26: Decisions decisions

Still another week without funding. I am really starting to get exasperated. But I am still hanging on because I do believe in this product, truly.

Either way, I managed to keep myself motivated this week. The offshore team was tasked with creating an infrastructure for playing the guided exercises that our CSO wanted the bot to be able to play in our application. For now, it should only be able to be played through the "Tools & Tactics" page but eventually I will code it so that the bot is able to start up any of the exercises as needed via context.

However, this feature has been lagging it because the offshore team does not know how to prioritize things at all. For whatever reason they keep fixing bugs that are completely irrelevant and also the mobile app which is irrelevant as well at the moment. I've been getting extremely frustrated with them; they're the reason why we haven't launched yet and the reason why the investors haven't paid out.

Either way, I still manage. I shifted focus this week to just working on one thing at a time instead of spreading my attention too thin, so most of what I was doing was just doing a ton of research on RAG systems and the related vector database systems.

I also had to rebuild our kanban board yet again because we for some reason decided to forgo the Notion board and go back to Trello, which was slightly irritating. And now the offshore team doesn't even want to use Trello so I wasted more time doing that for them.

I've also learned that LangChain is not actually a very good library at all for building LLM software, and that LLMware is all the rage now. I've been spending my time watching their videos and reading up on how to implement a new RAG system with how we want it, and I've gotten a pretty good idea of how I think it should go.

Thursday morning I also sat down with the CSO to build a comprehensive flowchart of the website in FigJam and it came out really cool. I can't share it here since I guess it is kind of confidential but either way, I was pleased with our own work. Definitely helped everyone visualize how things were to be done.

Next week hopefully I can start getting this thing actually implemented. I still need to keep doing research but it was good to take a week to not actually write anything.

Anyway, until next time, cheers.

Top comments (0)