DEV Community

Arswaw
Arswaw

Posted on

Are there projects in which you would choose one front-end framework over another?

The big three front-end JavaScript frameworks are Angular, React, and Vue.

All three of them react to state changes and update content on the screen accordingly. They all handle this in their own way.

Are the differences between these frameworks so stark that you would choose one over the other based on the needs of a project? Could they all work optimally for any project?

Thanks.

Top comments (3)

Collapse
 
samuraiseoul profile image
Sophie The Lionhart

Not sure I would choose one over the other in most cases past external requirements like I know Vue but the team knows React, which is not a really logic from a project requirement rather than the resources I have to do the project.

That said I can see just not choosing a framework and going vanilla if it's a small project for sure.

Also I haven't really looked into it much, but I could see maybe choosing Svelte in some instances over the others from my limited understanding of it.

Collapse
 
arswaw profile image
Arswaw

I will look into Svelte. Thanks for your answer.

Collapse
 
jamesmh profile image
James Hickey

Vue is super easy to integrate into existing applications (e.g. complex legacy applications). It's also much easier to introduce to a team that's not so experienced or skilled (compared to angular and react).

Angular is well suited for building single-page applications and seems to be favoured by larger organizations. Angular enforced certain conventions, which can be good, but does have a higher learning curve than the others.

I personally am not interested in react, but I'd place it closer to Vue's usage than Angular's.