DEV Community

artikbharoliya
artikbharoliya

Posted on

FAANG or !FAANG??

Hey, Fellow Developers
I am a recent grad and going for masters in the computer science.
I am also a fullstack developer.

So, let's get straight to the point.
Every programmer have a dream of working in some of the largest companies like Facebook, Microsoft, Apple, Google, Amazon and Netflix(FAANG).
And here I want to ask you guys is it really that big of a deal to work in these companies? I mean I've heard from somebody that if you haven't been in any of these companies you are not a great computer engineer. What you all think of this? I really want to know. I mean is it all about company?

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
sarahk profile image
Sarah

"You are not a great developer" unless you work in FAANG is elitist imho.

I can only speak for myself but I'm sure a lot of Devs have had similar experiences: I've learnt so much from esteemed colleagues, I had worked on interesting projects and had good work culture in my career in which the majority of it was in small/medium companies.

I guess working at FAANG comes with reputable name on your cv (resume) and perhaps a handsome salary.

TLDR; my point is developing on your skillset, learning best practices, working on projects that interest you can be achieved in FAANG or a smaller company.

Collapse
 
artikbharoliya profile image
artikbharoliya

Thanks for the suggestions...