DEV Community

Andrew Schmelyun
Andrew Schmelyun

Posted on

I built a free tool to help content creators collect ideas and feedback

I've been a content creator in the programming space for the last few years, and during that time I've gotten a lot of ideas from a variety of different sources.

So I built this: Suggest.gg

Where the idea came from

For a while, I would add suggestions that I received to a Trello board or Notion database to stay organized, which worked out well enough. It felt clunky though. Other people couldn't see my lists so I regularly got the same idea more than once, and I had no way of knowing what the most popular suggestions were.

That wasn't a huge deal, I usually just picked out a random idea to work on next and went with it. But as I continued to grow, so did my audience, and the number of requests that I got increased. Moving forward, my goal became to appeal to what my audience wanted to see most.

As an attempt at fixing this, I'd run polls a couple times per month with a few different topics and see what people were most interested in.

That helped, but got repetitive, so I figured that there has to be a better way to solve this issue. So, I did what any software engineer would do and started building an app to scratch my own itch.

What Suggest.gg does

Inspired by roadmap applications for software development, Suggest.gg lets content creators organize ideas into different statuses, accept new suggestions, and collect feedback from an audience.

Image description

You have a public profile where viewers can see what you're currently working on, what's been suggested by other people, and what has been finished up. They can vote on ideas, and leave more detailed feedback in the form of comments.

Image description

You also get a creator dashboard to monitor incoming suggestions, view basic visitor statistics, and manage your existing ideas. You can also customize your profile with a few different themes.

And well, that's basically it!

Suggest.gg is 100% free to use with unlimited ideas, suggestions, votes, and visits. I built it to serve my own purposes, but wanted to make it accessible to the larger content creator community.

I hope this helps others like me be less overwhelmed and understand what their audiences are most eager for.

What's next?

I'm working on a pro tier that'll include some additional perks. Things like advanced analytics, multiple boards, and more unique theming options. I'd like to continue working on the platform, improving it in any areas and adding useful features.

If you're a content creator or know one who might find Suggest.gg useful, I'd love it if you tried it out and tell me what you thought!

Top comments (0)