DEV Community

Ashish Shakya
Ashish Shakya

Posted on • Originally published at ashishakya.Medium

Connect Google Meet Link with Personal Reserved Domain

One of the cool things I tried and implemented was to connect the Google Meet Link with my custom reserved domain name and made it look like my own custom meeting link.

Prerequisites:

  • A Google Meeting link
  • Personal/Reserved Domain
  • Cloud Hosting/Server

Steps:

  1. Generate a meeting link from Google Meet.
  2. Get a domain from any Domain Name Providers. For the .np domain, you can register it freely from Mercantile Communication.
  3. Get the cheapest cloud hosting plan.
  4. Point the domain name to the IP of your cloud server in the name server.
  5. Simply create a server block in your web server. In my case, I have used Nginx. The only thing you have to do is to redirect the request to your previously created Google Meet link.

Sample of server block:

server {
        listen 80;
        listen [::]:80;
        server_name <reserved_domain_name>;
        return 301 <google_meet_link>;
}
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

In my case, my custom Google Meet link is meet.ashishakya.com.np. It is easy to remember and I have been using it for my official meetings and work schedules.

Top comments (0)