DEV Community

Atomik Jaye
Atomik Jaye

Posted on

Why Software Development?

I’m coming up on my first milestone of being at a bootcamp. So far, it’s been beneficial. I love my classmates and the instructors have been very helpful and accommodating. We’ve just finished up our JavaScript module! I’ve had experience with JavaScript before but I still learned a lot. One of our assignments is to answer the question “Why did you want to pursue Software Development?”

via GIPHY MTV

As easy as this question is, I still find it hard to answer. What exactly is my “why?” Have I chosen Software Development for the “dolla bills,” or have I chosen it simply because it’s “the ‘in’ thing to do?” I’ll start to answer this question by going back to my first encounter with code.

My interests in programming started back in Myspace days. Being able to personalize your page and making it an expression of who you are, was amazing to me. Myspace taught a whole bunch of teenagers and young adults how to code. Questions I asked were: “How do I hide my top 8?” “How do I change my background?” In order to solve these complex teenage problems, HTML and CSS was the answer!

I managed to use my Myspace skills to build a WordPress website to make and share Myspace graphics! Glitters? I gotchu! ‘div’ layouts? Check! I did it all! There was something special about making something come to life from a rather mundane page that excited me! I spent my summers a̶v̶o̶i̶d̶i̶n̶g̶ ̶p̶e̶o̶p̶l̶e̶ ̶a̶n̶d̶ ̶s̶o̶c̶i̶a̶l̶ ̶i̶n̶t̶e̶r̶a̶c̶t̶i̶o̶n̶s̶ staying in and messing with code!

dated webpage/ old myspace profile of Tom (creator of myspace)<br>
via Odyssey

Eventually, the time came for me to pick a major. At 17, I was tasked to figure out what I would like to do for the rest of my life, as well as, decide if it was worth paying loans back for the foreseeable future 🙃. I eventually ‘settled’ for graphic design! While in college I learned so many different art mediums, as well as, learning some website building techniques… m̶o̶s̶t̶ ̶o̶f̶ ̶w̶h̶i̶c̶h̶ ̶a̶r̶e̶ ̶p̶o̶i̶n̶t̶l̶e̶s̶s̶ ̶n̶o̶w̶. However, most of the focus was on the art side of things and I still felt a technical yearning. This yearning was very strong, I even tried to switch majors to engineering. Unfortunately, I was faced with the brutal reality of having to stay 4 more years in order to see it come to fruition and I was already a sophomore going into my junior year.

via GIPHY!

I decided to stick through with graphic design till graduation. After graduation, I began working many odd jobs I even landing an internship with a mobile development startup! It didn’t last too long, but I learned so much while I was there and caught a glimpse of what I would like to aim for. I also attended more meetup groups revolved around programming. I got to learn some topics such as the Internet of Things (IoT) and big data! After my internship ended, I had a hard time figuring out how to apply my skills to technical jobs. It was back to the drawing board.

I eventually landed what I felt was a ‘dream job’ in graphic design. I got to create art for a craft store! It was a dream come true… until it wasn’t. It was great for the first few months: I got to create so many items that would be enjoyed by many across all ages. As fun as it was at the time, I found myself craving for some technical tasks. I often sat wondering, what tools could we create to make the crafting process better? Could we integrate an inventory system for our customers to use so they know what they have at all times? What digital services could we offer to help our customers should they decided to use us for their crafting businesses?

Photo by Markus Winkler on Unsplash

Unfortunately, this was not in my job description. I also didn’t have the time to further explore these questions as many of us were laid off. However, Instead of being upset, I was excited! I was free to explore what life had to offer. I decided it was about time I formally learn how to program and bought an online class by none other than Colt Steele. I learned so much and absolutely loved it! I even decided to stream on Twitch to show the process of my learning to program in real time! I was even accepted into a stream team that focused on live coding. Sidenote I also highly recommend live coding while learning, I was able to receive real-time help from more experience programmers. I also learned something new every time I streamed!End Sidenote Unfortunately, self-doubt and imposter syndrome set in. I eventually allowed comparison to ruin my joy of programming and let my skills fade slightly. To add insult to injury, the pandemic made matters worse.

Photo by Dietmar Becker on Unsplash

I eventually started working at a warehouse when things died down, Surprisingly, it excited me. I was able to do different jobs almost everyday there! I was constantly learning something new and moving around frequently. I eventually landed a task called “Problem Solver.” We go around fixing inventory issues with our computers. Eventually my knack for exploring and fixing technical problems arose again. Questions like “How can this process be made easier?” or “Why are they using toggle menus on this webpage” started being asked again.
I eventually found out about a program called “Career Choice” were I was able to find this very program I’m in right now! I chose to enroll in Software Development because I’ve always had a knack for questioning and exploring solutions for technical problems. The ability to use my creativity and build something from nothing absolutely excites me. I find software development aligns with my yearning for fixing problems and it allows for flexibility in learning new things every step of the way.

I do not know where software development will lead me, however, I am excited to explore and find out all the possibilities!

via GIPHY

Top comments (0)