DEV Community

Avelyn Hyunjeong Choi
Avelyn Hyunjeong Choi

Posted on

Hacktoberfest - Final Recap

Progress

In my initial Pull Request, I focused on rectifying a website link, constituting a relatively minor task. Subsequently, I transitioned to another Pull Request, where I integrated translations into the website. Following this, in a subsequent Pull Request, I introduced a new function for file conversion. Finally, in the most recent Pull Request, I addressed a bug to autonomously rectify URLs entered by users.

You can find more details in the following blogs:
Hacktoberfest #1
Hacktoberfest #2
Hacktoberfest #3
Hacktoberfest #4

Little bit of my experience

At first, I was intimidated by the prospect of contributing to others' repositories. I was concerned that I might make a minor mistake in my code, leading to a barrage of comments questioning my suitability for open source participation. Thus, I began with a small issue and gradually moved on to slightly more complex tasks. This gradual progression bolstered my confidence over time. In the later stages, I also took it upon myself to address some of the bugs, which turned out to be an invaluable learning experience. All in all, this process helped me overcome some of my initial lack of confidence.

What did I learn from participating Hacktoberfest 2023?

  • Being a developer is not just about writing code; people spend a lot of time reviewing others' work.
  • People in the open source community were nicer than I initially thought. They didn't hesitate to assign work to me, nor did they ignore me, even though they knew I was just a student.
  • There were so many issues that I could contribute to in the open source community. New issues were coming up every minute or even every second.
  • Maintainers were always willing to help when I was struggling with something. They didn't just throw the work at us and adopt a 'you're on your own' attitude.

Top comments (0)