DEV Community

Avelyn Hyunjeong Choi
Avelyn Hyunjeong Choi

Posted on

Step 1- let me plan first

Step 1 - planning
Step 2 - progress
Step 3 - release


In this blog, I will be planning the work required to contribute to more open source projects and outlining my approach to these projects.

What's it about?
Issue 1
When npm run test is executed, it fails one of the unit tests, resulting in a failed CI build. In the failed test, both addChild() and updateHousehold() method is called, and instead of returning the expected array, it returns false.

issue 1

Issue 2
While I was working on issue 1, I realized that whenever I use npm run lint, it prompts me to execute Prettier again, which is cumbersome. This issue addresses incorporating both linting and formatting using Prettier without having to run another Prettier command again.

Issue 3
This issue is part of Issue 2 above. It is suggested to change the formatting rule to not use Black. Note that
Black is used in all PolicyEngine Python packages.

Issue 4
This issue is about implementing Prettier rule to automatically sort React component property.

Approaches
Issue 1

  • Review the test file, HouseholdPage.test.js, to identify which functions are currently being used.

  • Examine the code in updateHousehold(), which test file uses.

  • Given the numerous if/else statements in updateHousehold(), review the code to identify any potential edge cases that may not be covered. I will try to implement adjustments to handle these cases, to pass the unit test.

Issue 2

  • Incorporate prettier formatting command to the existing npm run lint

Issue 3

  • Review any code that uses 'Black' and assess the impact of removing it.

  • Change the formatting rule to not use Black if there are no issues.

Issue 4.

  • Investigate whether there is a Prettier rule to automatically sort keys in a object and how to apply the rule to the existing project.

Personal Goals
- Learn New Skills: I am excited to learn something new and apply this knowledge to my future pull request.

- Push Myself Out of the Comfort Zone: I would have backed off since the project is huge and there are lots of code to review before implementing something new. However, this time, I want to push myself a little bit beyond my usual comfort zone and give it a shot.

Top comments (0)