DEV Community

Kaye Alvarado for AWS Community Builders

Posted on

Getting AWS Certified 100% Free!

I recently passed the AWS Security Specialty exam (exactly a week ago). It is the 6th AWS certification I earned as of date. Both my sisters had a nonchalant reaction when I told them about it. "Again!?" I guess the law of diminishing marginal returns applies here, they're no longer as impressed as they were when I took my first exam. 😆

Image description

Well to me, it was still scary, going to the exam center with the fear of failure at the attempt. It was my first specialty exam after all, and I had news that it was one of the difficult ones. I did fail an AWS certification exam before having gone to it too confident with not much preparation, and I do not want to experience that ever again. The exam length alone is a big waste (Professional and Specialty exams run for at least 3 hours).

Don't Fail!

Okay, enough with the plug. Let me tell you another reason why you don't want to fail, and why some even don't want to risk taking the exam.

Cost Breakdown:
Cloud Practitioner - $100
Associate Level - $150
Professional or Specialty - $300

Talk about expensive! Aside from the one exam I failed, and one which was company sponsored, all my AWS exams were 100% free. Listing down some of the ways you can get these vouchers too!

1. Be active in the User Group Community

AWS has a thriving user group community. They have developer advocates whose main job is just that, empower AWS users. To help aid in training, they provide free training, and lots of times, they give away these free vouchers during the training events. Attend community events, and you might just earn yourself a free certification exam, or AWS credits!

AWS create programs to give you just that...free vouchers.

2. Watch out for free AWS vouchers announcements

Since a few years ago, AWS had a mission--to get people certified. To make this happen, they have been actively giving out free training materials (improving the skill builders website), and giving away promotional AWS vouchers to take the exam at a discount, or 100% free. You just have to skim through the forums for the announcements.

3. Be a Community Builder

Image description

As mentioned prior, the user group community is thriving and it's not without the help of volunteers who make this happen. If you have enough contribution to the community, not just as an "attendee", try to apply for the AWS Community Builders program. Applications open twice a year and is a seamless process of submitting links to your contributions (blogs, vlogs, live talks, online talks, and other community volunteer initiatives).

Being a community builder is a true testament of "giving back". You are not paid for it, but you get the chance to give back to a community that empowers you in your role. Did I mention it comes with swags, access to the community builders network, AWS credits, and drumroll an AWS certification voucher.

4. Pass an Exam

If you haven't taken an exam yet, you probably don't know that AWS gives you a 50% discount voucher to your next exam. It's one way to encourage you to keep on learning, and support you on the journey.

Final Notes

That said, there is an ongoing free retake promo (in case you need it): https://home.pearsonvue.com/aws/free-retake
The AWS Certification Free Exam Retake promotion is available March 15, through May 31, 2023, to candidates attempting a retake of a failed exam. The first exam attempt should be taken by May 31, 2023, and if needed, the free retake exam must be completed by August 1, 2023. Re-takes completed after August 1, 2023, are not eligible for the promotional retake discount. Make sure you utilize this if you're taking an exam soon!

--
I also got renewed today for a second year to the AWS Community Builders program! Looks like I'm gonna need to study to take another free exam! 😆

Top comments (8)

 
timhub profile image
Tech Tim (@TechTim42)
  1. the criteria I cannot remember, but I believe there is no specific frequency requirements,
  2. No, it does not have to be AWS only
Thread Thread
 
kayea profile image
Kaye Alvarado

Hi! Just in case you weren't notified, applications to the AWS Community Builders program have started again. :)

Collapse
 
timhub profile image
Tech Tim (@TechTim42)

going to do some exam soon too :)

Collapse
 
kayea profile image
Kaye Alvarado

good luck on your exams!

 
timhub profile image
Tech Tim (@TechTim42)

there is no specific platform required for making contribution, the contribution could be a blog post, or a Youtube video, linkedin post, or even a twitter thread.

My suggestion is same to Kaye, keep making contribution, and choose the way you are most comfortable with. :)

Collapse
 
billbrock9 profile image
BillBrock9

I got the Amazon Specialty SCS-C02 practice test from p2pexams, and I believe it is the best exam preparation resource for the AWS Certified Security - Specialty SCS-C02 exam. By taking this practice material I noticed a huge improvement in my concepts related to the final test. On the Amazon SCS-C02 exam day, I found myself fully confident. Many questions in the test came from this exam study material. I easily attempted all the questions and I passed the test with ease.

Collapse
 
timhub profile image
Tech Tim (@TechTim42)

for community builder application or for the voucher for exam?

community builder is yearly reviewed, voucher usually takes less a month to be received after applying.

 
kayea profile image
Kaye Alvarado

Yes, it opens up mid-year. Just add your name in the waitlist to get notified when it opens up, then you can apply. For now, just keep contributing to the community! :)