DEV Community

Ayak22
Ayak22

Posted on

The Learning Begins

As a teenager, I spent a lot of time at my computer and dreamed of developing games when I was older. This didn't quite come together!

I went to college (here in the UK) to study IT but didn't apply myself and scraped through with a passing grade. In our course we learned the very basics of HTML and some 3d development, essentially the minimum we'd need to go to university and take our skills further. A few friends did well and got scholarships, but I took another path. I'd be interested in IT networking, but ended up dropping this and went into a different career.

Fast forward to today, and I've decided I want to learn more. I'm not sure what exactly the future holds, but here is where I'm up to now.

  • I did some basic web development on FreeCodeCamp, re-learning HTML and CSS and starting to learn JSS.

  • I'm learning about the fundamentals of Linux and terminal commands, as well as various other network and cybersecurity basics, through tryhackme and hackthebox.

-I've started to learn to touch type, simply because it seems like a good skill to have!

-I'm reading and doing some very basic courses on cybersecurity, including a free level 2 course online.

I'll make another post as I gain skills and go forward, but wanted to make this first post to say where I'm up to so far!

Top comments (0)