DEV Community

Cover image for KWOC-23 | Kharagpur Winter Of Code Project Report.
Ayush Talesara
Ayush Talesara

Posted on

KWOC-23 | Kharagpur Winter Of Code Project Report.

What is KWOC?

Kharagpur Winter of Code (KWOC) is a 5-week long online program designed for students who are new to open-source software development. Not only does the program provide a gateway for students to get involved in open source, but it also serves as preparation for various open-source summer programs, with Google Summer of Code (GSoC) being one of them.

About Me

HeyπŸ‘‹ there! I'm Ayush Talesara, a self-taught web developer currently in my third year of college. I've enthusiastically dived into React, and I'm thrilled to share my successful contributions to Hacktoberfest23 and Codepeak23. Excited to continue learning and growing in the world of web development!

Choosing Projects

Throughout the month, a variety of projects were available to choose from, and I gravitated towards web development-based ones, especially those involving React, leveraging my expertise in web technologies.

In particular, Digitomize and AR-Webstore caught my interest. They seemed practical, prompting me to dive into the code, understand its details, and explore opportunities to add more features.

Overview of My Contributions

I initiated my contributions with the AR-Webstore project, addressing issues related to the misalignment of the navbar on small screens. Additionally, I implemented a hamburger button animation for an enhanced user experience. Subsequently, I refactored the code for the navbar. Shifting my focus to Digitomize, I improved the drop-down menu by adding a contest logo to facilitate better filtering of contest data.

Contributions Details:

  • Fix The Content Not Aligned Properly, Add Contest Icons in Tags #346 Merged At #349

digitomize#issue349

  • Navbar Is Not Aligned Correctly And Hamburger Menu Is Not Working Properly #179 Merged At #181

  • Refactoring the Navbar Code #183 Merged At #184

AR-Webstore#issue179&183

Special thanks to the KWOC team and the program for providing this excellent opportunity. Also, a heartfelt shout-out to all the mentors of the projects. πŸš€

Top comments (0)