DEV Community

Calin Baenen
Calin Baenen

Posted on

I erroneously deletedy root partition. Now what?

Posted on Reddit's r/archlinux and r/techsupport.

Is there a way I can reinstall Arch from the bootstick I still have?

I've been following this tutorial, and how my system and it differs is that all of my partitions have "unknown filesystems".

Here's a backlog:


    error: disk `lvmid/MMwt86-jYqe-hUn1 ... zo7KQw' not found.
    Entering rescue mode...
    grub rescue> ls
    (hd0) (hd1) (hd1,gpt2) (hd1,gpt1)
    grub rescue> ls (hd0)
    (hd0): File-system is unknown.
    grub rescue> set
    cmdpath=(hd1,gpt1)/EFI/grub_uefi
    prefix=(lvmid/MMwt86-jYqe ... zo7KQw)/boot/grub
    root=lvmid/MMwt86-jYqe-hUn1-x1eI-sqCk-RoXD-NihFx4/49zeY2-wEvE-jsN6-2EqG-5TW4-CeLE-zo7KQe
    grub rescue>

Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

And the same error I get for (hd0) applies to the other three ((hd1), (hd1,gpt2), and (hd1,gpt1)).

IMPORTANT NOTE:
(hd1,) is my bootstick. Removing it beforehand results in (hd0) (hd0,gpt2) (hd0,gpt1).

Top comments (3)

Collapse
 
zazzyzeph profile image
Zephyr Prusinski

Sorry friend, you've deleted everything on every partition you had mounted at the time you did that. The partitions still exist, but they don't contain any data, which is why GRUB Rescue isn't finding any filesystems.

also, this is really hard to do by accident on any modern linux distribution, sounds like someone tricked you into running rm -rf / --no-preserve-root which is very rude ._.

Collapse
 
baenencalin profile image
Calin Baenen

That's not the command I used.
Also, this is Arch, so you'd be impressed.

DW, though, I fortunately managed to fix the issue.

Collapse
 
naruaika profile image
Naufan Rusyda Faikar • Edited

If I'm not mistaken, the line error: disk lvmid/... says that you have an Logical Volume Manager (LVM). So, I believe that's why the grub rescue didn't recognise it, since LVM is different from standard partitioning. I'm not mastering LVM, so couldn't help much. But have you tried to mount it by using the live-boot USB? Then you may want to backup your data into external drives.