DEV Community

Cover image for My Journey Learning to Code: Reflections on My First Month
Baha Mustafa
Baha Mustafa

Posted on

My Journey Learning to Code: Reflections on My First Month

Hello everyone, my name is Baha Mustafa and I am currently working at Amazon while taking the career choice program in software engineering at Flatiron School. I wanted to share my experience with learning to code and reflect on my first month of studying.

Learning to code can be daunting, especially for beginners like me. But after a month at Flatiron School, I can confidently say that it's a challenge worth taking on. Not only did I gain a solid foundation in HTML, CSS, and JavaScript, but I also discovered a supportive community of fellow learners and developers.

What surprised me the most was how accessible coding has become. With online resources and meetups, there are countless opportunities to learn and grow. It's amazing to see how willing people are to share their knowledge and help each other out. This kind of support system made me feel like I was part of a community, rather than just a lone learner.

Of course, learning to code isn't all about theory and syntax. Putting what I learned into practice was crucial to my success during my first month. I challenged myself to build a simple website, which not only helped me see how far I had come but also gave me a tangible result to showcase my skills.

Looking back, I'm proud of my progress and excited to see where this journey takes me. I encourage anyone interested in learning to code to take the leap and give it a try. With determination, a willingness to learn, and a supportive community, anything is possible

Top comments (0)