DEV Community

Eleftherios Psitopoulos
Eleftherios Psitopoulos

Posted on

Portfolio review

Psitopoulos eleftherios, Frontend developer

Almost every time I want to get a color from a webpage, I open the dev tools, select any random element and create a color css attribute, setting it to a random color. After that, I click on the small color square that will toggle the eyedropper tool for me to select that color I wanted to get in the first place.

"But this has nothing to do with your portfolio website!" -let me explain! Every time I put a random color in the attribute, I just press a key to get me any color. This key is most of the time "r", which selects the "rebeccapurple" color. Over time, I started liking this color alot, so, for my n-th portfolio redesign iteration, I wanted to use rebeccapurple as a primary color.

I also wanted to convey an "older" feeling, instead of going for an overly saturated design. Something that would remind old video games maybe? I don't know if I got there, but I am feeling great with the end result.

Without further ado, I would like to have my portfolio website reviewed by our awesome community. Here it is

Would you also like your own portfolio reviewed? I would love to take a look!

PS. I also got my CV to match the design of my portfolio. Check it out here

Top comments (12)

Collapse
 
abidemit profile image
Tiamiyu Sikiru Abidemi • Edited

Beautiful... I love it
Kindly checkout mine also
Abidemi.netlify.com

Collapse
 
bakedbird profile image
Eleftherios Psitopoulos • Edited

I like the minimal design of it. I would suggest that you work on the animations a bit, to make the ending more fluid :)

Edit: Also, in the portfolio/projects page, I have mixed feelings about using the iframes. I think a simple screenshot + link would be better.

Collapse
 
abidemit profile image
Tiamiyu Sikiru Abidemi

Thanks so much for your feedback I really appreciate 😊😊😊 I will make changes ❤

Collapse
 
hpj1992 profile image
Harshit • Edited

Really nice. Please info about the technology stack you used for your website?

Collapse
 
bakedbird profile image
Eleftherios Psitopoulos

The site is built with Gatsby, which also implies the use React. I wanted to build something with Gatsby for some time now, in order to learn it. This was my chance :)

Collapse
 
sublimemarch profile image
Fen Slattery

This looks great! I especially love the focus state you've used. One little accessibility recommendation: The green of your links on the "projects" page has pretty low contrast against the white background, which can cause readability issues for lots of folks. Check your hex codes using a tool like WebAIM's to make sure they've got enough contrast.

Collapse
 
bakedbird profile image
Eleftherios Psitopoulos

Thanks for the recommendation, Fen! I used AChecker and I figured I had a couple of things that I needed to address!

Glad you liked it!

Collapse
 
vinceramces profile image
Vince Ramces Oliveros

Beautiful. Do you even send that rubber ducky image when you apply to some company?

Collapse
 
bakedbird profile image
Eleftherios Psitopoulos

I actually do! This bird and I go together. :)
Bakedbird is the literal translation of my last name.
Since it is the 'bird' of bakedbird and I am bakedbird, it would only make sense to send it as part of my personal branding :)

Collapse
 
vinceramces profile image
Vince Ramces Oliveros

😂😂😂😂😂

Collapse
 
niorad profile image
Antonio Radovcic

That's cool! Hardly any front-end-devs even have their own domain, let alone a portfolio-page. Good choice on the color, too!

Collapse
 
bakedbird profile image
Eleftherios Psitopoulos

Glad you liked it! It's a shame that most frontend devs don't have their own portfolio pages. I think it's a must have because you not only get to showcase your work but also show the world (and potential employers) who you are and what you do, in a more personalised way than a CV. It's our own little web corner!