DEV Community

Abel Lifaefi Mbula
Abel Lifaefi Mbula

Posted on

How much to charge for a simple Nodejs CLI app?

Hi devs,

I need your help.

I have a client that asks me to create a node standalone module that will help them create a pdf file from a json and template.

Tell me if I am wrong in this proposal

  • Project duration: 2 weeks
  • Project cost: 1500$

I know that you don't have the full specs but I tried to give you an overview.

Tell me if my proposal is over estimated or not

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
bairrada97 profile image
bairrada97

I dont know node js but let me just say my opinion.

How many hours do you plan to work daily on this 2 weeks?
Why dont you sell the projects by hours?
If you work 8h a day, that means that you'll work around 112 hours on this project, Thats 12$ per hour.
If you think you market value is 12$ per hour go for It, if not rethink again on project Cost.

Collapse
 
bam92 profile image
Abel Lifaefi Mbula

Thank bairrada97 for your comment.

When I work for local projects I charge 10 - 15$ an hr. But when I go remote I often value myself 20 - 30$ an hr.

Here is how I calculated this amount (1500$):

  • Cost per hr: 25$
  • Working 5hrs/day
  • Number of days: 10
  • Misc fees: 250$