DEV Community

Cover image for December goals
Batuhan Ipci
Batuhan Ipci

Posted on

December goals

Attaining mastery of any skill means we need to learn, practice, fail, and iterate in the learning process many times. I can say the same for my open-source development journey. Being able to contribute to open-source projects has been a highlight of this year and in the last month of 2022, I plan on continuing my open-source development to keep up the momentum I built over the last two months. I have a few goals outlined for this month that I would like to accomplish by the end of the year.

Improve on code reviews:

Earlier I wrote a blog about my code-reviewing process and how it did not go too well.  I want to practice doing some more code reviews throughout this month and get better at giving constructive and effective feedback.

More open-source project contributions:

Honestly, I should have started this task a couple of days ago, however, life happened and I got into a late start. I found a couple of potential repositories I would like to contribute to over the next week:

  • My Photohub: I have already contributed to this project a few weeks ago where I created the UI of the progressive web app (PWA) using React. I plan on working on the other issues filed for this project and try to get closer to the finished product of this project.

  • Intel/cve-bin-tool: There are several issues in this repository that are interesting to me, particularly the ones about creating checkers. I would say it is not very coding-heavy, but it needs a lot of research before doing it.

  • Some other interesting repositories I came across while looking for some projects were:

Refactor, improve and package palpatine

I have been working on building my static site generator palpatine for the last two months. However, I have not had the chance yet to package it up to create my first release yet. When I attempted to package it up a few days ago, I ended up with a lot of errors and bugs that would require lots of time to debug. I plan on sitting with it next week again.

Solve Advent of Code problems

This year, I am also challenging myself to keep up with solving the Advent of Code challenges!

Try out Advent of Cyber

I also found out about this amazing challenge from a classmate and would love to give it a try!

Fun fact: This year my classmates and I started building a browser based cybersecurity game with three.js
When I found out about Advent of Cyber, I knew I had to give the challenges a try to learn different cybersecurity concepts in a fun and engaging way.
This year, I am also challenging myself to keep up with solving the Advent of Code challenges!

Top comments (0)