DEV Community

Bastian Drüsedow
Bastian Drüsedow

Posted on

Introducing a Kafka Maturity Model

Hi everyone!

Since I am currently writing my master thesis on Apache Kafka, I have developed a model that is used to classify systems into maturity levels. The model consists of 5 levels and is based on analyses of some aspects of similar models and includes points from own research. Unlike most maturity models, the model does not refer exclusively to processes, but to the communication architecture of the system. The model is presented in the attached PDF document.

For the validation in the context of my master thesis I created a survey. The classification into the maturity model can be done by everyone himself and is done by means of questions, which you can find in the survey. Afterwards there are further questions to evaluate the model. The result of the survey will help me in my master thesis and will be included anonymously. Anyone who has developed or maintained a system using Apache Kafka can participate.

Link to the maturity model document.

Link to the survey: https://forms.office.com/r/Fv6cUwYv4v

I would be insanely happy about a lively participation in this survey. If you have any questions or comments, please feel free to contact me at b.druesedow.uni@gmail.com.

Top comments (0)