DEV Community

Amazing
Amazing

Posted on

This is your Sheriff speaking

This week, I'm proud to write about my pleasure experience taking over the Sheriff position for our Telescope project in week 7.

How did I prepare for this

First thing first, being a Sheriff require you to be available most of the time so I decided not to work during the week just to make sure I don't miss out on any important decision, involve in decision making, be available,resourceful and finally giving direction for the team moving forward if any

I'm on duty right after the break week which give me a plenty of time for me to learn and study the state of the project. During break week, I already reach out to people who having big issues or track their progress on Slack. People like Kevan, Francesco or Tim will introduce newly material for the project in this release or Amasia, Diana, Tuee who have taking a lead and got many issues taken by them. I try to track or talk to them to see how thing is going to make sure I got a vision about how our project moving forward.

In the beginning of the week, I jump into our 2.8 milestones and read every single issue closely untill I visualize what need to be done and also keeping the communication bridge going back and forth smootly. Night before the meeting, I staying up and check every single issue again to know which one should be drag out because they might need a little push or inputs to be merged into the project. The morning of the meeting, I do a rehearsal for myself on how I would direct the issue to my colleagues at 5am which is 3 hours away from the meeting. The meeting then went well and I take pride of doing such a decent job to manage the meeting for the first time.

Potential career opening up

After Sheriff week, I'm feeling like I might be fit working as a comunity manager for the project. One week off, giving me more vision on what I want to do with my life. As aninternational student I'm always obssesed with stablize my income and ever since graduate from Fleming and got no luck on finding an intership opportunity right after, I showed 0 motivation when starting to study at Seneca college. During the Sheriff week, for the first time I have a chance to organize and set out my goal and what
would fit better for me coming out from college. I'm now setting my goal to earn a job working as a comunity manager or a react native job.

Messing up like usual, 2 weeks are all it take

I messed up twice during the early of the week, the first one would be after I rebase Cindy work but somehow it stale all the approvals of her PR. I regconized that the change have no conflict with master so instead to wait for the approvals and decide there was no point to waste more time for reviewing the PR so I miss out the rebase proccess and accidentally merge the PR straight into master and polute our project git history. The second time would be when I merge the work from Francesco, I did indeed read Dave comment which ask the maintainers not to rebase the work since we want to keep the git history from Satallite. I got exciting to see a big things that I have been keeping track ever since the break week ready to be merged. I then follow my usual habbit and rebase it which I was ask not to do -_-. Luckily, Duke was there to help revert and merged Francesco PR again into Telescope

This blog post got written week after the release so we did also break production on the release day as well :). I guess our prof start regretting since his breaking production culture made him to work overtime on a Friday night to make it work :). After a while, Duke and Roxane be able to point out that we did not have the same git history base so Github would not be able to figure it out. Then the whole team decide to jump on another call and work untill 10pm (what a day eh ?).

How mature am I with the project moving forward ? I'm now got no lost or fear feeling when jumping into new material or subjects. I accept of the fact being lost and working on how I can solve the problem more. After attending meetings, and reviewing code I regconize that all of us get lost in the beginning and all have to work our way up. Instead of spending time overthinking and getting lost, I move to the second stage faster and doing my research. Maybe untill I pump into another big issue, but now I feel no pressure working on new materials which I have never work on before. Also I regconized how my coleagues master new materials in the 2 weeks time span for example Kevan who has been working on our Portainer set up during the break week and being able to pull it off for 2.8. Diana be able to work on some animation for our About page using all material and some researching, many more great work that I could not list it all here during my time being 2.8 Sheriff.

I would try to work on our React native app and hopefully we will be able to hang around and using Telescope on our mobile when we finish this course !

Top comments (0)