DEV Community

Cover image for Ubuntu Bootable USB stick: The “elusive” 😂 “Try or Install Ubuntu” option...
Be Hai Nguyen
Be Hai Nguyen

Posted on

Ubuntu Bootable USB stick: The “elusive” 😂 “Try or Install Ubuntu” option...

My Ubuntu 22.10 no longer booted. I tried to do a reinstallation using the original bootable USB stick, but there was no “Try or Install Ubuntu” option. The BIOS USB 3.0 option setting seems to affect this behaviour.

Back in December, 2022, my first Ubuntu 22.10 (Kinetic Kudu) installation went smoothly.

The machine I installed it to is my old laptop, an HP Pavilion 15 Notebook PC, its Born On Date is 04/October/2014, the original OS was Windows 8.1. All USB ports are USB 2.0. The Ubuntu bootable USB stick I use is also USB 2.0, I purposely selected USB 2.0 for bootable USB stick.

I scrapped Windows 8.1, installing only Ubuntu 22.10.

In the laptop BIOS, I changed the boot order, moved USB Diskette on Key/USB Hard Disk as the first option:

068-01.jpg

Inserted the bootable USB stick and rebooted the machine. From thence on, just followed the instructions in the official document Install Ubuntu desktop.

Third week of May, 2023; while experimenting with some configurations, I installed SELinux -- which damaged my Ubuntu 22.10. (SELinux is no longer for Ubuntu 22.10, do not install it). After this, when booted up, it just displayed the GRUB menu, I can't work it out. So I decided that it is simpler just to reinstall.

I change BIOS boot option as before, using the same bootable USB stick... There was no Try or Install Ubuntu option! The available options are:

068-02.jpg
068-03.jpg

Neither of those four (4) available options helps.

After a few hours of searching, I came across a post discussing a similar issue, whereby the author has a single sentence which mentions that if there is a USB 3.0 option in the BIOS, it should be set to Auto. Focusing on getting my problem addressed, I forgot to write down the URL of the post, I could not find it for reference in this post, I do apologise for that.

In my laptop BIOS, there is an USB3.0 Configuration in Pre-OS and it was set to Enabled: this is the default setting, it was like this the first time I installed Ubuntu 20.10:

068-04-usb-3-enabled.jpg

I do not know why it worked at the first time! I set it to Auto:

068-05-usb-3-auto.jpg

This time, it does have the Try or Install Ubuntu option:

068-06-install-option.jpg

I am in the dark as to why it is like this... But that's how it is. Afterward, I went to the BIOS again, set the first boot option to OS boot Manager.

That's about it for this post. Thank you for reading. I do hope someone will find this post useful. Stay safe as always.

Top comments (0)