DEV Community

Cover image for Rust Cursive / TUI Crash Course + App Project
Bek Brace
Bek Brace

Posted on

Rust Cursive / TUI Crash Course + App Project

Hey everyone,

I'm super excited to announce the release of my Rust TUI / Cursive Crash Course on YouTube! šŸŽ‰

I am using Rust Version 1.77.1 and Cursive Version 0.21.1

For those of you who donā€™t know me, Iā€™m Amir, a software developer and content creator with a passion for programming, especially in systems languages like Rust. Over the past few weeks, Iā€™ve been putting together a practical and fun crash course to help you dive into Rust and build a Pomodoro Timer application using Cursive for terminal-based UIs.

Rust is an amazing language known for its speed, safety, and memory managementā€”perfect for building fast and reliable applications. But when you combine it with the Cursive crate, you can create beautiful text user interfaces (TUI) in the terminal, which is what weā€™ll be doing in this project.

In this course, youā€™ll get:

  • A complete overview of how to set up Rust and the Cursive crate
  • Step-by-step guidance to create a Pomodoro Timer TUI
  • Tips and tricks to work with closures, event handling, and UI in Rust

Check it out here:

I canā€™t wait for you to try it out! Make sure to subscribe to my channel, drop a comment, and let me know your thoughts. Your feedback really helps me improve my content and bring you even more awesome tutorials.

Looking forward to seeing you in the course šŸ˜Š

Best,

Amir

Top comments (0)