DEV Community

Cover image for I just launched my first real side project!
Benjamin Raffetseder πŸ‡¦πŸ‡Ή
Benjamin Raffetseder πŸ‡¦πŸ‡Ή

Posted on • Updated on

I just launched my first real side project!

First of all, hi dev.to community!

This is my first post, I've been here a little longer but actually just spent the most of the time lurking.

As I mentioned above I just "finished" my side project called "deliciously.cooking". It's a mix between a traditional recipe site and Tinder.

I know that sometimes finding something that you actually want to cook can be a big struggle if you get a big overview of all recipes. That's why designed & developed this site. You just a random selection of cards and if you see what you like you can get further information about it.

What's under the hood?

The site runs on Drupal and Vue. The explore page gets the recipes via an API using Vue to fetch and display them.

Users are able to register and upload own recipes over a simple form. They're also able to save other recipes to their account.

Is this project done?

No, it's far away from being finished, at least in my opinion! I still have a lot of ideas which I want to add. (Also some bugs to fix)

I also need to promote and get users to the platform. Maybe you have interest in it and have a look?

deliciously.cooking

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
lpellis profile image
Loftie Ellis

Congrats on launching! Vue and drupal is an interesting combination, did you know Drupal before starting this site?

Collapse
 
benjaminraffetseder profile image
Benjamin Raffetseder πŸ‡¦πŸ‡Ή

Thanks! As I mentioned this project isn't really complete. I'm currently redesign the landing page, but I just wanted to release it.

So yeah, Drupal and Vue are a pretty interesting combination but they work pretty well together, especially with Drupal 8 with they rest API module.

I already knew Drupal because I work in an agency specialized in Drupal. It's also my first CMS which I learned.